We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Future-Oriented Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a belated review---we stayed here back in December (a few days before Xmas, so the hotel was almost empty). The hotel is located an easy two block walk from the lively restaurant and bar/club scene of downtown Athens. It is supposedly one of the "greenest" hotels in the US, with everything oriented to energy efficiency, etc. The "green" touches here are quite impressive, and the hotel reminds me of a modern European boutique hotel. Our room had all the comforts (flat screen TV, comfortable bed, etc.) you would expect from a top notch boutique hotel. Parking is free and in a garage under the hotel. There is no full-service restaurant, just a cool looking breakfast bar (which also has a nice outdoor patio). Staff were friendly and in tune with the contemporary feel of the hotel. There is a nightclub on the garage level, but it wasn't open when we were there. Our only complaint was that when I made the reservation over Indigo's central reservation number, I asked if breakfast was included in the room rate, and was told that it was. However, when we went for breakfast, I was advised that breakfast was not included in the AAA rate. But the desk clerk quickly agreed that it was their fault, and gave me a $20 voucher for breakfast (enough for what we wanted). Overall, a really neat place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

We appreciate your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are very proud of our LEED Gold Certified (aka "green") status and are happy that you mentioned that in your review! We apologize for the discrepancy, but are very glad to know you were well taken care of by one of our conscientious staff members. We hope you return to Hotel Indigo-Athens in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner in downtown Athens and a great concert at the 40 Watt Club, both within very easy walking distance of Hotel Indigo. The LEED certification of this hotel was a big selling point. The room was really big, the bed super comfortable, and the decor modern yet somehow woodsy. It was clean, very quiet, and very safe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giumesciscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient for your trip! We sincerely hope you visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I adored this hotel, as did my husband, and we would definitely stay here again upon returning to Athens. The hotel is really beautiful, clean, and overall just a nice stay.

One complaint was that upon arriving, we pulled into the lot, where we later found out there were spots for loading/unloading/checkin in that people were just parking in. We tried to go into the actual lot, but you need a room key. There weren't any spots out front of the place, so we had to park a bit away to check in.

We were put in a penthouse level room that was on a corner which was great because our room was really open with lots of window space. The room was perfect - the bathroom was especially roomy and nice with a clean shower. Aveda products in the bathroom also helped! I didn't bother to pack shampoo and what not knowing this.

There are local band posters in the rooms which is a nice touch, as well as all the modern design touches. The bed was comfortable and sheets were clean. Although my husband was more than freaked out by the shag carpet in the room, but he is one of those people who is really irked by hotels.

The location is what is really great. We were able to walk to everything downtown and not drive - really great - but CVS and some shopping are just down the road. I really liked the location.

Parking was annoying because we are nice people and didn't park our tiny 40MPG cars in the low emissions / hybrid vehicle parking spaces. Upon returning at night, the spots were filled with v6 engine SUVs and pick up trucks, which was kind of annoying since we were definitely the smallest and most fuel efficient cars in the lot that weekend. I don't get having priority parking like that if you just let SUVs and what not park there. Dumb complaint? Yeah probably. Oh, and the spots are tight, so all those SUVs/pick ups made it REALLY hard to get even into my tiny car. Plus it's 10 dollars a day, which just made this annoying.

We got free drinks at the bar, which is really nice and comfortable and definitely easy to spend time in. It is well decorated, and there are even fire pits outside.

Definitely a great place to stay when in Athens.

Room Tip: Penthouse level - PH33 is a great room with lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! Your feedback means everything to us and we will do our best to take your constructive criticisms regarding parking/ parking enforcement and make a difference. We hope you'll visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The nicest of Athens' three best hotels, The Hotel Indigo is the best place to stay in Athens. The hotel is comfortable and located mere blocks from downtown (a five minute walk). The staff is friendly, and the rooms are tastefully designed. I will stay here on future trips to Athens.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Many thanks for your kind review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are ecstatic to hear that we are your top choice for accommodations in Athens, Georgia. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

There are so many wonderful things to say about this hotel. First off all the hotel representatives that I worked with were extremely helpful. My groups room keys were ready upon arrival, so no one had to wait to get into their rooms. Bus parking was free and on-site! (Major bonus). The hotel has an art gallery, cafe, bar and fitness center on the first level. The lobby is modern and gorgeous. Upon entering my room I was pleasantly surprised. Hardwood floors instead of carpet! I love, love, LOVE that! All the furnishings were beautiful, modern, trendy and chic. The bed was extremely comfortable, water pressure in the bathroom shower was great...there is nothing bad to say about my room. The location is FANTASTIC! It is walking distance to the Classic Center and the wonderful downtown area. Many restaurants, bars, banks, cafes, etc. The one small negative is the fitness center. I was expecting the hotel to have some wonderful gym equipment, but it was lacking a little. The fitness area is definitely clean, roomy and inspiring, but the equipment needs updating. Other than that this hotel is fantastic. I would recommend anyone to stay here. There is no reason to stay anywhere else. If you're coming to Athens, GA this is the place to be!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a suite, go for it! The rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmjosesolivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are happy to hear that you, and your large group, enjoyed your time spent at our hotel! Your feedback means everything to us. We are very sorry that our fitness equipment did not live up to your expectations, and we will take your feedback into serious consideration! We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Hotel Indigo Athens is a great place to stay and we highly recommend it. We've visited the hotel twice now and enjoyed both our visits. The hotel has a very unique and modern design with a lovely outside courtyard. The Rialto club has a very comfortable and contemporary environment and the rooms are very well done. We liked the sustainable design elements of the hotel and it is walking distance to downtown Athens which is great. Try the cheese platter and some of the appetizers during cocktail hour - very good and very reasonable!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpalanpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your multiple trips to our property and hope that you will be a guest in our hotel again very soon! We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here due to the fact that my Mother in law had just passed away. The room and the amenities were all excellent!! One of the finest Hotels I have stayed in...anywhere. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Just ask. College students are in charge and do a fantastic job trying to please their guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsbary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Indigo-Athens! We send our condolences to your family and hope that your time at Hotel Indigo-Athens was relaxing and calming during this time of grief. We hope you visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
6.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
1.2 mi away
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £105 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing