We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hughes / McAdams Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
“Hughes / McAdams Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Fabulous weekend at Hotel Indigo in Athens for my daughters wedding. The Hotel staff was wonderful and so accommodating to all. The spacious lobby and beautiful patio was a great place for friends and family to gather and catch up. Also, the walking distance to the church and downtown shops and restaurants was just great for our guests. The Rialto Room was the perfect venue for the Rehearsal Dinner on Friday night. We all LOVE Hotel Indigo and can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens and for choosing us as your destination for the Hughs/McAdams Wedding Weekend! We're pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    114
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
101
111
21
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel Indigo in Athens is a very nice modern hotel within walking distance to downtown Athens. Check-in was very quick with all special requests being granted. The lobby has a very 'cool' feel with a nice bar and bistro. I had a King non smoking room which was also very modern and clean. The wood floors and decor are great. The room was equipped with a flat screen television, coffee maker, iPod compatible alarm clock and more. Many hotels have very loud A/C units that often interrupt sleep, Hotel Indigo has very quiet/discreet units that are easy to control via a thermostat on the wall. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope you'll visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed one night while in Georgia on business. I am orginally from Athens so I was familiar with the city but not this new hotel. The hotel has a very modern, urban feel. The lobby is very open and has a very friendly bar which is bright and cheerful. The staff was super pleasant upon check in and offered information about the area and the hotel. I had a king room on what they term the Penthouse level (the 5th floor) The room was vry spacious and had a huge room length window that let in lots of light. The TV was a large flat screen. The king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but very nice with a large walk in shower. THe rooms were very quiet and comfortable. I did not eat at the hotel but did have drinks and the bar staff were as friendly as the front desk and made everyone fell welome and relaxed. The parking was secure although tight and there were several carpool spots which made no real sense to me. I wasnt aware that many people carpooled to a hotel. I assume it was all part of their green initiative. The only drawback was the nieghborhood, I would not want my wife or daughter walking without an escort to a nearby restaurant from the hotel while I would feel more willing to let them in other sections of Athens. With that being said, this is a great hotel and I will retun for another stay. Definitely spend some time at the bar for relaxation

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We're elated to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and we hope to join us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for a single night at this very nice boutique hotel. We had a great corner king suite on the third floor. It was large and very hip with modern art and decor. This ain't your daddy's Holiday Inn. The lobby is bright, very inviting and the staff was extremely polite. It is well located within walking distance of Athens' great downtown and the University of Georgia. I liked it being off the beaten path a little as it added to the quiet (probably different during football season but what SEC city is?). The entire facility was very clean, and our king bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed a complimentary wine from the bar, and the bartender was polite and informed. We didn't take our dog (which we could have) but you would never know that pets are allowed. There was a sorority formal being held in the Rialto Room but we never heard a peep. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There is a fire station behind the hotel. We were awaken by an ambulance so you may want to take tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We are so glad to hear that you & your wife enjoyed your evening spent at Hotel Indigo-Athens! We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Hotel Indigo is by far the nicest hotel facility in Athens. The staff is always upbeat and helpful. Rooms are always clean. The Madison Bar is the best "hotel" bar in Athens providing a large area to congregate. Overall I rate this as the best hotel Athens, GA has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! Your kind words & glowing review are very appreciated by the entire staff at Hotel Indigo-Athens. We work hard everyday to provide our guests with a one of a kind experience, and we're glad we succeeded in doing that for you. We hope you will come visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with a modern decor. Each room is unique and the suites are out of this world. The location could be a little closer to downtown but it is walkable. The service was fantastic and the lobby bar/restaurant was excellent. Ask about a tour of the basement lounge. It has a fantastic Beatles collection that not many see!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel & appreciated our decor choices. We appreciate you mentioning The Rialto Club level & the various music memorabilia showcased on the club level. We hope you will visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a modern styled hotel with a new clean look. The staff was nice and always around. The hotel is small but adequate. The parking is limited but I was always able to find a spot out front and the hotel took the parking expense off my bill cordially. The rooms are not insulated well and you can hear most noises in the hallway and I could hear the people above me even flush their toilet. The celings are bare concrete so that explains the sound insulation issues. If you are looking for alot of business type amenities or a pool you wont find it here. Although I did see a nice conference room. The rooms are big enough, not huge but they are dimly lit but modern enough. Overall this is not a five star hotel but I was more than satisfied with accomodations especially since I got it on priceline and it was near downtown.

Room Tip: Stay at the top floor so you dont have to hear the people above you flush their toilets and walk aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, Management Representative at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Indigo-Athens. We appreciate all of your feedback; both positive & negative. Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo-Athens! We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Property: Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing