We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I loved the bed and multiple pillows in this room, very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and recognized us as we came and went. The recycling buckets were a nice green touch, but I would have appreciated a regular waste basket in the room instead of only the one in the bathroom.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear TyMom,

Thanks for coming to our hotel all the way from Texas, and thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We strive to offer the best comforts while you and other guests are away from their homes. We will enjoy seeing you again on another trip to Athens.

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Hotel Indigo-Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    114
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
101
111
21
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel Indigo in Athens is exactly as promised; green, very clean, and very comfortable. Room service is excellent, both food and service. The beds are just the right amount of plush with a great pillow menu. The highlight of the place is the staff. Everyone is friendly, accommodating, and seems to really care about the hotel and its guests. And, by the way, in answer to the "terrible" rating, parking was a breeze.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLC1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear RLC1953,

Thank you for all the nice things you mentioned in the TripAdvisor review of our hotel, the staff and the amenities. It is our staff culture to ensure all of our guests enjoy their experience while here in Athens at our hotel- we are so glad you did.

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Hotel Indigo-Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Indigo in September. The location is perfect, convenient to downtown and campus. The lobby, rooms and outdoor areas are inviting, clean, modern and well designed. The food was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. I will choose this hotel whenever I have reason to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Brad0131,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor review. Your compliments will be shared with our staff. We hope you return again soon. Thank you.

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Hotel Indigo-Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a hotel that deserves accolades. Our room was not ready when we arrived after 3 which really was no big deal. I gave the front desk person my cell number so she could call me when it was available. We just walked around downtown Athens for 30 minutes or so then she called me saying it was ready. When we officially checked in she told me she gave me an upgrade to a penthouse suite in concise ration for my room not being ready on time. This was not expected nor asked for but appreciated.
The hotel is modern, has recycling and in general is environmentally responsible overall as noted by their construction. The beverage area/restaurant is very nice and reasonable. They even have a patio off the restaurant with an outdoor gas fire pit for guests to sit and enjoy the cooler weather.
We will stay there again while in Athens.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Brad0131,

So sorry for the delay in thanking you for your comments about your stay in Athens. We appreciate you taking time to provide guest feedback. We continue to listen to our guests comments and make adjustments accordingly. Thank you for your stay, and we hope to see you again at Hotel Indigo-Athens.

Regards,

Barry Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hadn't been to Athens in a few years. Don't think this was an option last time in town. Always stayed at the Holiday Inn in the past, because for the longest time, it was the only place within quick walking distance of downtown and North Campus. No longer - lots more choices on places to stay in Athens, which is great for visitors.

This is a beautiful new space with a super-friendly, effective staff, nice rooms, good beds and a comfortable common area with an outdoor lounge. A few blocks walk to downtown, but not in the middle of it (useful if you're a light sleeper and don't want to hear the nighttime revelry of the town's famed bar scene).

Really like how they embraced the Athens scene. The rooms have posters of past local band's gigs, there's local art in the lobby and local coffee and beer in the restaurant.

We'll be back here next time we get back to Athens.

(Note: I stayed during the week, not during a football weekend or graduation.)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xeno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear XENO111,

Thanks so much for your comments on Hotel Indigo-Athens Downtown Univ. Area. We are pleased to be one of the newest hotels in the downtown market, and we like to deliver on all the attributes you mentioned in your review. Come again, experience this great town, and allow us to be your host. Thank you again.

Barry Rutherford
Managing Partner, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel when my daughter was invited to attend an early all-day event hosted by the UGA Honors program. Because it was early, I felt like the hotel needed to be close enough to walk to campus, and it was, about 5 short blocks through adorable downtown Athens. The hotel is very modern, extremely clean, and has all the amenities you could wish for. The beds were comfortable, and the room decor was very nice too. I was a little taken aback that I was charged $10 for parking (as I didn't recall seeing that anywhere in the fine print when I was booking the room). Nonetheless, it was worth it so we could be close to UGA and not have to drive onto campus.

The staff was extremely friendly, and the breakfast in the morning was excellent too. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocjarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear JOCJARMOM,

Thanks so much for your review of Hotel Indigo-Athens. We are pleased your stay was comfortable. Please come again, and enjoy our V.I.Program- 15% discount for UGA parents of current students. And, please contact me directly upon your next visit to Athens, so I can make sure to provide you with an upgrade on your next stay.

Barry Rutherford
Managing Partner, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Overall, a pretty distance experienced. I kind of wish that my room was on the third floor and not in the back other than that... due to the ppl above walking and using the restroom all night. It's all good...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyLove30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoAthens, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Athens-University area, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear HappyLove30,

Thanks for sending your review in on Hotel Indigo-Athens. We appreciate you taking time to do so, and hope very much you will stay with us again on your next trip to Athens, GA. We feel our STAFF is providing the most unique boutique experience in Athens.

Barry Rutherford, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Athens-University area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Athens-University area

Property: Hotel Indigo Athens-University area
Address: 500 College Ave, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Athens-University area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Athens-University area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing