We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites Athens-GA
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graduate Athens(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
27
19
15
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
19
15
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenpots and panssmall kitchenking suitenice hotelfell asleepin townhome away from hometwo night staynice stayrooms are spaciousother hotelsthe hotel staffpantrymicrowavesonicga
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a UGA college visit. We arrived fairly late and the only room they had was one with a queen bed. We had booked a room with a king bed on a third party site. I was disappointed to hear this, but the employee made it right by offering a rollaway. We were grateful and he delivered it soon after to our room.

The fan on the AC unit was very loud but we were able to turn it off because the temp in the room was fine. My concern was we wouldn't be able to sleep if it had been running.

We woke up early and were on our way to UGA. FYI - this hotel is not close to campus and is about a 15 minute drive away.

While the hotel was fine, I think for the price we paid, breakfast should be included but the hotel does not offer this service.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank TexasLCJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear TexasLCJE,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

From reading the reviews from last year with managers responds saying we will fix the problem, nothing seemed fixed. We stayed here 1 night , not by choice,when our nicer higher rating hotel overbooked.
1. Staff was nice
2.check in states on website 3 pm, rooms were not ready til 4 pm
3. Rooms could be cleaner- maybe housekeeping needs more training or more time to clean

4. Found 2 dead bugs in the room that should have been vacuumed up.they were there awhile.
5. Lights where burnt out in bathroom,again. Why doesnt housekeeping tell maintenance.
6. Left over food in frig from past guest.
Sounds like I'm a picky person,I'm not.really. I just expect a clean place for 153.00 a nite. Oh we had 4 rooms.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank troino6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret L, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything is in perfect working order and meets their expectations. I am sorry if that was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was a nice hotel just a few miles from UGA. The area was quiet and safe. The room was large and the service was great. The only drawback was the TV in the bedroom didn't work. Usually not a big deal, but we were traveling with our 2 kids and landed up watching Spongebob :-)
Staff offered to replace, but that seems like too much of a productions.
The area is a nice suburb with plenty of restaurants, movies and shopping. Would definately state again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerb1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for recent comments about the Candlewood Suites in Athens. It is always good to hear about the experience a guest has at our hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a flood @ our house while on a cruise>>our insurance co. put us in Candlewood!!! We checked into a one Bedroom Suite. After check in we noticed the faucet in the bathroom was about to come off!! The shower curtain was loose!! Lights were out!!! The crisper in the ref was missing the glass !!! They did fix everything the next day...why didnt housekeeping tell maint???? and have it fixed??

The furniture was very UNcomfortable!! for us.. We checked in on a Monday we were going to stay for a month or until our home was repaired...We had to change rooms on friday because of a GA> football game!!!that was ok. BUT we were told we HAD to be out of the room by 10am FRI because they were expecting a sell out week-end!!!!!!

We did move to a SINGLE room, small and only TWO plates, cup, etc.

On Sunday WE moved to another hotel 1/2 mile away for the next 3&1/2 weeks!!!

Poor housekeeping...we will not be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean, spacious and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The staff was very friendly, and helpful.. but the fact that the room doesn't have an "oven" made baking quite a challenge. The dvd player was not hooked up (which should have been inspected after the last guest checked out) the towels are very rough, you might as well dry off with sandpaper, the faucet in the tub practically came off each time we used the tub or shower, the air/heating unit was confusing.. it said use the wall thermostat to control the temp, but the wall unit didn't work at all so we had to use the actual unit to control the temp.

Overall the beds were clean and comfy, didn't get much sleep... at least I didn't.

Room Tip: Do your research before booking!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I do wish we had ovens in the rooms. I know our guest love to bake and that would be a great feature to have. I do apologize that the there was some items not working in your room. We are always striving to make sure all items are working in the rooms. I am sorry this was not the case for you. I am glad to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass that along to them and will check into the items you talked about. Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews