We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dawgs Rule!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is the third time in 5 years that I've had the pleasure of staying here. The mostly student-run operation is professional, clean, very pleasant. The conference facilities are top notch, the food and snacks are excellent. Wish it was closer to home, I'd book it for our class reunion this fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeaneVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your great review. We would love to host future events for you- whether it is a meeting or social event. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    84
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
74
16
9
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I, both professors at another major university, who stayed at many hotels runs by other universities, found the UGA Hotel an excellent local on campus, with nice ground-floor amenities and beautiful gardens, but the lodgings upstairs that were on par with today's Days Inns or Motel 6s. Routine questions to the Front Desk directed us to the Conciergie Desk which directed us to the Front Desk. One day a message is stuck to the outside of our room door, telling us that Housekeeping will skip making our room that day because we still have a 'Do Not Disturb' sign outside it at 10 a.m.; The next day the room wasn't been made up by 4 p.m., despite the lacks of any 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door that day or stickers from Housekeeping place on it, so we have to phone the Front Desk to ask that the room be made up. Go figure. The squeaking, un-airconditioned internal elevators were interesting. The place means well and the student staff are friendly, but the lodgings need an overall makeover, and maybe UGA needs a Hospitality Management curriculum?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinCrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed at the UGA hotel when I was in town for a conference in May 2013 and was from the moment I walked in the place struck by how friendly and competent the staff was. I assume they were students, but really I don't think I've encountered more professional and competent hotel staff anywhere. The room I stayed in was on the small side--I was offered a larger room when I checked in but decided to stay with the smaller room I'd booked--but it was clean and very nice and had everything I needed. Months later I needed a copy of my receipt and had one emailed to me during my 2-minute phone call. I don't usually take the time to write reviews but the people who work at this hotel deserve recognition.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. Or entire staff takes great pride in offering excellent customer service. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at the UGA hotel during my son's Orientation. It is centrally located and perfect for anyone not familiar with Athens and/or the University. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The rooms were average but very neat and tidy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cusack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and welcome to the UGA community! We look forward to having you as a guest on your future trips to Athens. Please be sure to join our Parents Club.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I attended a workshop held in the conference and stayed in the hotel. Overall it was a great experience with no any particular complaints. The hotel and rooms are clean and staff is friendly. The food served as part of the workshop was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw about the UGA Hotel at the Georgia Center. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Limón, Aragua, Venezuela
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This place is elegant, well setup, away from all the noise of town and right in the heart of campus, walking distance to almost anywhere in Athens (especially downtown). All the ammenities from category 5 hotel. And very special for an alumni coming back....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisbartolomegomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your great reply! We always enjoy welcoming Alumni to our hotel and conference center. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Compostela, España
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have stayed in the UGA hotel for a conference and I do not have any complains about it. Very comfortable and clean room, also free WIFI available and all the TV channels that you can imagine. In my case was a good choice since the conference was in the same place, however as it was the holyday term not many students were around. 20-25 minutes walk to the downtown crossing the university area. I will definitely book the same hotel if I have to go again to Athens.

Room Tip: Not in front of the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our hotel, we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 23 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Property: University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing