We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facility - great people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great facility - great people!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had the pleasure of holding a conference here and the facility was first class, as was the staff, the food and the sleeping rooms. The campus is one of the most beautiful in the country in an idyllic setting, just a short walk from Sanford Stadium, and a five minute drive to downtown Athens. I hold training sessions all over the country and this, along with the facility in Palo Alto at Stanford University and Chaminade in Santa Cruz, CA are among the best I have found.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine - rooms in town are noisy and parking spaces are at a premium there - there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and praise! We look forward to hosting future events for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    84
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
74
16
9
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent 3 days at the UGA conference center. This is a very nice facility. The conference rooms are large, comfortable and convenient. The restaurant selections are somewhat limited, but served their purpose well. My room on the 5th floor was quite small (guessing 200-220 sq ft) but very clean and comfortable. The staff was better than good.

Room Tip: The hallways on the upper floors appeared to be "newer" than those on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Although the location is excellent for anyone goint to UGA, the price was rather high and did not include breakfast. The selection for breakfast was rather limited, and not cheap. The room was rather small, and included only a single chair. There was no closet, and no place to hang up suits. It was very clean, and the room service was good. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Apply well in advance, especially if you plan to stay for the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. The UGA Hotel offers competitive pricing based on the Athens market and offer a weekend special, including breakfast for two, that is priced under the Athens weekend market. Our breakfast special of eggs, grits or hash browns, choice of bacon or sausage, biscuit and juice and coffee is under $10 (9.47 + tax).

Because of the historic nature of our hotel some of our rooms are smaller, but we do also offer modern sized rooms for guests wanting additional space. All of our rooms include closets.

Again, thank you fo ryour review and thank you for recognizing two of our outstanding features- our cleanliness and our service, we take great pride in both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My family has a lot of great memories in this restaurant. This restaurant is located right next to a small but very elegant garden inside the University of Georgia. My daughter loves to spend a lazy Saturday afternoon there in the garden, watching and counting the colorful flowers. And then we will have a very relaxing dinner in this restaurant. They used to offer a three-course dinner at merely $10 price if you order the dinner between 5:30 and 6:30pm. That is exactly the time that fits our schedule. So we have enjoyed quite a few low-priced but elegant dinners there. Even though they discontinued the offer now, we still go to this restaurant quite often. Perhaps we have connected this restaurant with some nice weekend feeling

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shuyanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the gardens and your meal at The Savannah Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Quiet and reasonable price. The room is standard with two beds and clean. The staff are friendly. It's in the middle of the UGA campus and is safe. Can even take a walk around the campus during the night.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charlie20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

In town for a wedding reception at the UGA conference center this was a perfect location to stay as we could park the car for the weekend and walk. The staff is some of the friendliest in the hotel industry; accommodations are clean and up to date; and rooms are typical size for business travelers. Drawbacks are no pool, no hot tub. If you are attending an event at UGA would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an inward facing room. We were on the 3rd floor and light from the campus lamp posts came di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4DMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times but in July 2013 we had the pleasure of staying in "The UGA Suite."
This special suite is reserved for the university mascot named 'UGA" (English bulldog). When UGA comes to the campus with the Seiler Family of Savannah, this is HIS doghouse!

The Suite is beautifully furnished with a living area of black leather furniture with a large screen TV, micro, 'frig. The bed is king-size and very restful.

There are two separate baths and UGA black/red theme is found throughout. Framed photos of UGA, his sweater, the Seiler Family, etc. adorn the walls.

Downstairs is the a coffee shop, full sit down restaurant, bar and mini-cafeteria.

The staff is most helpful and the campus is lovely, historic. Enjoy each moment in this great university town!

Room Tip: Get the UGA Suite if available. Of course during football season weekends, UGA and the Seiler Famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianogardenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your review, the Uga Suite is one of our favorite rooms as well! We are very pleased you were able to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 23 in Athens
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Property: University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing