We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and conference center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel and conference center”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for a business conference in November 2013.

The hotel had to have been built quite a few years ago. The layout of the hotel, lobby, halls, and rooms was very odd and it didn't fit together very well. The rooms are small and they have an odd floor plan.

There was a VERY long hallway to the rooms, so if you have any issues with mobility, I would suggest asking for a room near the elevators.

That being said, everything was re-modeled and up-to-date. The lobby was nice. And the conference center was fantastic!

The restaurant where breakfast was served was old and gave me the feeling of going to a cafeteria. But the breakfast was CHEAP (by today's hotel standards) and it was good.

The "bar" of the hotel was pretty weak...like they just found a spot in an empty room and added some booze. Then again, if you are in Athens, GA, looking for a bar, then the hotel bar should not be your destination...there are countless bars downtown full of college kids.

Hotel is about a half mile walk from downtown.

Room Tip: long hallway from elevators to rooms...get a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wspsatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are correct, our hotel has been here awhile- over 50 years! But, as you mentioend we also take great efforts to modernize our hotel rooms and lobby and or course our amazing meeting rooms.

Thank you again, we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    90
    55
    12
    4
See reviews for
79
16
9
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had the pleasure of holding a conference here and the facility was first class, as was the staff, the food and the sleeping rooms. The campus is one of the most beautiful in the country in an idyllic setting, just a short walk from Sanford Stadium, and a five minute drive to downtown Athens. I hold training sessions all over the country and this, along with the facility in Palo Alto at Stanford University and Chaminade in Santa Cruz, CA are among the best I have found.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine - rooms in town are noisy and parking spaces are at a premium there - there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and praise! We look forward to hosting future events for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent 3 days at the UGA conference center. This is a very nice facility. The conference rooms are large, comfortable and convenient. The restaurant selections are somewhat limited, but served their purpose well. My room on the 5th floor was quite small (guessing 200-220 sq ft) but very clean and comfortable. The staff was better than good.

Room Tip: The hallways on the upper floors appeared to be "newer" than those on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Although the location is excellent for anyone goint to UGA, the price was rather high and did not include breakfast. The selection for breakfast was rather limited, and not cheap. The room was rather small, and included only a single chair. There was no closet, and no place to hang up suits. It was very clean, and the room service was good. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Apply well in advance, especially if you plan to stay for the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. The UGA Hotel offers competitive pricing based on the Athens market and offer a weekend special, including breakfast for two, that is priced under the Athens weekend market. Our breakfast special of eggs, grits or hash browns, choice of bacon or sausage, biscuit and juice and coffee is under $10 (9.47 + tax).

Because of the historic nature of our hotel some of our rooms are smaller, but we do also offer modern sized rooms for guests wanting additional space. All of our rooms include closets.

Again, thank you fo ryour review and thank you for recognizing two of our outstanding features- our cleanliness and our service, we take great pride in both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My family has a lot of great memories in this restaurant. This restaurant is located right next to a small but very elegant garden inside the University of Georgia. My daughter loves to spend a lazy Saturday afternoon there in the garden, watching and counting the colorful flowers. And then we will have a very relaxing dinner in this restaurant. They used to offer a three-course dinner at merely $10 price if you order the dinner between 5:30 and 6:30pm. That is exactly the time that fits our schedule. So we have enjoyed quite a few low-priced but elegant dinners there. Even though they discontinued the offer now, we still go to this restaurant quite often. Perhaps we have connected this restaurant with some nice weekend feeling

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shuyanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the gardens and your meal at The Savannah Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Quiet and reasonable price. The room is standard with two beds and clean. The staff are friendly. It's in the middle of the UGA campus and is safe. Can even take a walk around the campus during the night.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charlie20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

In town for a wedding reception at the UGA conference center this was a perfect location to stay as we could park the car for the weekend and walk. The staff is some of the friendliest in the hotel industry; accommodations are clean and up to date; and rooms are typical size for business travelers. Drawbacks are no pool, no hot tub. If you are attending an event at UGA would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an inward facing room. We were on the 3rd floor and light from the campus lamp posts came di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4DMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
457 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Property: University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing