We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Close to Downtown!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Close to Downtown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here while in town for my daughter's wedding. Very clean and pretty. You park in a parking garage. Didn't have time to check out the restaurants. The room was a little small, but other than that, it was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us on such a special occasion! We hope to have you as a guest one day again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    82
    51
    11
    4
See reviews for
74
15
9
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We booked here and it was not a football or basketball weekend. At 11:30 p.m. we called the front desk and asked that someone come up because there was a large and loud party in the room next door. The rooms have been redone, but this is an old hotel and the walls are paper thin. 12 a.m.. no relief...called the front desk and she said she couldn't find the security officer. 12:30 a.m. called again...security officer came...1 a.m. no relief...1:30 a.m. called the front desk and told them if they didn't do something I was calling the police. Security officer came again and they disbanded the party in that room.
Next morning before leaving for the day we asked if the people were checking out of that room. They said yes. When we returned late afternoon we were told WE HAD TO MOVE because the people had not checked out and they wanted to "make sure we were taken care of". As a goodwill gesture they gave us 2 UGA mugs. Planning on returning to Athens in 4 weeks and we will not be staying there. Oh yes, the bar closed at either 9 or 10 p.m. because it "wasn't a big weekend",

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

When I come to Athens, I like to stay at the UGA Hotel & Conference Center. the rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly and it's in a great location. We came to Athens this time to watch a girls basketball game. The hotel was right across the street from the coliseum. The hotel is very close to the small animal hospital.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't close to an elevator or an exit door. The walls are thin and every tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for being a loyal Georgia Center guest! We appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for a business conference in November 2013.

The hotel had to have been built quite a few years ago. The layout of the hotel, lobby, halls, and rooms was very odd and it didn't fit together very well. The rooms are small and they have an odd floor plan.

There was a VERY long hallway to the rooms, so if you have any issues with mobility, I would suggest asking for a room near the elevators.

That being said, everything was re-modeled and up-to-date. The lobby was nice. And the conference center was fantastic!

The restaurant where breakfast was served was old and gave me the feeling of going to a cafeteria. But the breakfast was CHEAP (by today's hotel standards) and it was good.

The "bar" of the hotel was pretty weak...like they just found a spot in an empty room and added some booze. Then again, if you are in Athens, GA, looking for a bar, then the hotel bar should not be your destination...there are countless bars downtown full of college kids.

Hotel is about a half mile walk from downtown.

Room Tip: long hallway from elevators to rooms...get a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wspsatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are correct, our hotel has been here awhile- over 50 years! But, as you mentioend we also take great efforts to modernize our hotel rooms and lobby and or course our amazing meeting rooms.

Thank you again, we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had the pleasure of holding a conference here and the facility was first class, as was the staff, the food and the sleeping rooms. The campus is one of the most beautiful in the country in an idyllic setting, just a short walk from Sanford Stadium, and a five minute drive to downtown Athens. I hold training sessions all over the country and this, along with the facility in Palo Alto at Stanford University and Chaminade in Santa Cruz, CA are among the best I have found.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine - rooms in town are noisy and parking spaces are at a premium there - there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and praise! We look forward to hosting future events for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent 3 days at the UGA conference center. This is a very nice facility. The conference rooms are large, comfortable and convenient. The restaurant selections are somewhat limited, but served their purpose well. My room on the 5th floor was quite small (guessing 200-220 sq ft) but very clean and comfortable. The staff was better than good.

Room Tip: The hallways on the upper floors appeared to be "newer" than those on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Although the location is excellent for anyone goint to UGA, the price was rather high and did not include breakfast. The selection for breakfast was rather limited, and not cheap. The room was rather small, and included only a single chair. There was no closet, and no place to hang up suits. It was very clean, and the room service was good. The staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Apply well in advance, especially if you plan to stay for the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGA_Hotel, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. The UGA Hotel offers competitive pricing based on the Athens market and offer a weekend special, including breakfast for two, that is priced under the Athens weekend market. Our breakfast special of eggs, grits or hash browns, choice of bacon or sausage, biscuit and juice and coffee is under $10 (9.47 + tax).

Because of the historic nature of our hotel some of our rooms are smaller, but we do also offer modern sized rooms for guests wanting additional space. All of our rooms include closets.

Again, thank you fo ryour review and thank you for recognizing two of our outstanding features- our cleanliness and our service, we take great pride in both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Property: University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing