We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best value in Athens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Room

Savannah Room
Ranked #142 of 410 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: One of Athens' finest restaurants. The Savannah Room offers seafood, steaks, vegetarian options, Southern specialties and superb desserts. A full bar is available. The Savannah Room is located inside the UGA Hotel.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best value in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Delicious food at very reasonable prices. Everything i've ordered has been great and i always look forward to going to the Savannah Room. Upscale dining at reasonalbe prices--I love it! Parking can be tricky because it's on campus--try the parking garage behind the Georgia Center.

Helpful?
1 Thank Picky_Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice any day or for special occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

A quality place with chef-prepared entrees but not at all expensive. In the heart of the GA University campus, two minutes from downtown Athens, next to a parking ramp with validated parking. We've always had extraordinary meals, each with that special something. The servers are friendly, experienced and attentive. Lunches are very reasonable and dinners seem to be in the medium range.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner with exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Ate here my first night. Exceptional service. Fresh greens in the salad, love the vinegrette. The she crab soup really hit the spot. Second night, conducted a potential employee interview. Service was just as great. Server remembered me from the night before. Extra points for that.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“People do not think about this place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

But should. I have taken my daughter here after church many times and enjoyed the Sunday buffet. For a buffet, the food was fresh and consistent. Good service as well.

Helpful?
Thank dawgrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It used to be terrific”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The setting is lovely. It used to be one of the best kept secrets in town, hidden away in the Georgia Center for Continuing Education--no signs, no advertising, a special place known primarily by visitors staying in the hotel, faculty and staff.

The last time I went was with a group. People either loved their meal or, like me, were very disappointed. I ordered the "angus beef cheeseburger" plate. The meat was gray, dry, and tasteless. I sent it back. Half an hour later, as everyone was finishing their meal, my replacement arrived. It was gray, dry, and tasteless. I didn't eat it.

In fairness, many people still rave about this place. I wish I could. I will not go back again.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank papillonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Savannah Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing