We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Because of a family wedding scheduled for Saturday night, April 12th near Athens, GA, my brother who lives in costal Georgia and I searched for a hotel in that area with two rooms, so we could enjoy some family time together. He located a hotel first, and booked two rooms at this hotel through Booking.com. Written confirmations were sent to both of us under their booking number of 204993049. The rooms were guaranteed for late arrival.
At mid-day on the 12th, my brother arrived at the hotel and was promptly given his room. At about quarter to four, I arrived (having a much longer drive than he as I live in Richmond, VA).
I was met at the desk by Mr. Paul Gopaul, who identified himself as the General Manager of the hotel. He also informed me that he could find no copy of my booking, and therefore a room was not available in his hotel.
My wife and I needed to change clothes and freshen up for a the wedding, some twenty miles away at a local winery (and barely an hour before the wedding was due to begin). After spending so much time with Mr. Gopaul, all of it wasted, we used my brothers' room to change our clothes and left.
On the way I used my cars' nav system to locate and reserve another room, this one 40 miles away in Hartwell, GA.
I believe if you check my reviews on Trip Advisor, I try to find positive things to say about most facilities. I am a Senior Contributor. Also, owning an export/import business for many years, I am no stranger to travel.
I have never before encountered a situation like this where, even after showing Mr. Gopaul a written copy of our confirmation, I was never even extended the courtesy of an apology, let alone a room.
Mr. Gopaul assured me he was following all the policies of both Wyndham and Microtel.
There are few things worse at the end of a long, tiring drive than to discover your "guaranteed" room reservation is worthless.
I can assure you this will be the last time I will rent a Wyndham property room, let alone a Microtel.
Be Warned!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank mmeachm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked the room because it was about the only thing open that did not cost an arm and a leg, so I did not expect much. My expectations were met.

The place is old and needs a lot of work. The floors feel like you are walking in a trailer as they creak and bend (no, I am not that fat).

If you want to turn on the lights in the room, you have to walk in, go over by one of the beds and the light switch is on the wall near the floor. Really fun to hunt for the light switch at midnight. The switch on the wall by the door did nothing.

I would have given the place one star, but the mattress was actually quiet good. The bedspread has burn holes and the sheets were iffy clean, but whatever.

Also the yogurt was frozen solid at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horacewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Tea W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Akash_Talati
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 23 in Athens
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Athens
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens

Address: 1050 Ultimate Dr, Athens, GA 30606-6968
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 4.8 short miles from the popular Sanford Stadium, The Microtel Inn of Athens offers a variety of spacious, clean and nicely priced rooms, with a friendly and wholesome family environment, sitting just off Atlanta Hwy across from the Target Store, this hotel offers rooms with both king beds and two queen beds, available in the non smoking and smoking areas of the hotel. Each room comes with added amenities of an iron and ironing board, a microwave, a mini fridge, a hair dryer, & free local calls, as well as cable television, that can be seen on a 32in. flat screen. At Microtel each guest gets to enjoy free in-room Wi-Fi! What's that? No device to take advantage of the Wi-Fi? No problem! check out their business room that allows you to surf the web, check your email or chat with your friends. Also bright and early each morning, from 5:30 am to 9:30 am, guests can take advantage of a complimentary Continental Breakfast, served in the breakfast area of the lobby. Lunch or Dinner? Just ask the knowledgeable front desk attendants about the local eateries. Finally there is the downtown Athens nightlife just moments away, for those feeling like a bar or club is just the way to top off a visit in Athens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Athens Hotel Athens
Microtel Athens
Athens Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing