We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Itching”
Review of Budget Host Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Athens
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Hinesville,Ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still Itching”
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I am orginally from Athens and I am so embrassed that I allowed my friend to book this place. First she saw a roach crawling on her stuff...no big deal.. we killled it and tried to enjoy our trip. The next day she found a tick on her bed... OMG. This whole time I was fine. I get home and start itching like crazy....come to find out I got eaten up by bed bugs. A lady at my job that worked at a hotel for five years confirmed my bites. We left Athens Sunday...here it is Friday and I am still itching. This place really needs to be inspected by the health department or some body. On top of that...there were all kinds of interesting characters hanging out around the hotel. I am from Athens and I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY.....GOING WITH THE CHEAPEST IS NOT A GOOD IDEAL IN THIS CASE. I WOULDN'T STAY HERE AGAIN IF IT WAS FREE!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank browneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    0
    2
    16
See reviews for
4
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

This was the only hotel not booked up for game day in Athens that would also allow pets. Otherwise, I would never, never have stayed here. The place smelled strongly of mildew, the refrigerator wasn't working, the microwave had been burnt up, the mattress coils could be counted, the bedclothes had holes and stains, the TV went to static after five or ten minutes, the room was generally dirty, and -- most horrifying of all -- it had roaches! On the plus side, when the air conditioner died, the manager did pop in a new one right away. But, come on, roaches. No one should have to endure this place, especially at game day prices!

  • Liked — Dead A/C was replaced.
  • Disliked — The roaches!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank garulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2007

This is the worst place ever. We bought a tarp to go over the bed because of the disgusting smell. The bed was 3 mattresses piled one on top of the other. There had been a leak in the ceiling in the bathroom previously and during the night we heard water dripping from the ceiling above the toilet when the upstairs toilet was flushed. The smell was awful. We bought some Oust and bathroom cleaner and flip flops to walk around in. The door had plywood on the bottom and a large gap as well as a large gap around the air conditioner. Athens was completely booked due to the UGA/SC game so we had no choice but to stay. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing, disgusting place
  • Disliked — Everything was awful, smell, cleanliness, just terrible place, needs to be torn down
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dawglvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

This hotel was only $40 a night so we weren't expecting much but have stayed in ok hotels in Atlanta and Augusta for that much. This place was scary though, and not because it was in a bad part of town, just the rooms and the clientele looked awful. The room we got had a broken front window that was taped together and none of the lights worked. The chairs were stained with god knows what and the bathroom floor tiles were broken. The lamp shades were stained and it just smelled awful and looked like it was out of a horror movie. We asked to see another room, and it wasn't quite as bad but we pulled back the sheets and found what looked like blood stains so we got our money back and left. In the parking lot we found $10 that we used to get a better hotel room down the street.

  • Liked — The front desk gave our money back
  • Disliked — The room was disgusting
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LydiaGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Athens
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#17 of 23 in Athens
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Athens

Property: Budget Host Athens
Address: 3425 Atlanta Hwy, Athens, GA 30606-3326
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing