We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hibachi!”
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #180 of 415 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
north carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hibachi!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Don't let the strip mall location deter you from coming in. The interior is clean and updated- not like a lot of the tired looking hibachi steak houses. Our chef was entertaining. Our server was attentive. The meal was delicious and fresh tasting. We'll definitely return!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
COLUMBUS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little pricey for what you get, but great taste.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere is fun, however serving size needs to increase dramatically.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Must-Do”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

When eating hibachi, there is the expectation that you'll get 'a show' as well from the chef. Ours didn't really do so--did the egg in the hat trick, but didn't engage us in anything, like the sake squirt or even catching broccoli or a veggie in our mouths. We were surprised by that, as the other chefs seemed to be doing it at the other tables.

Regardless, the food was well prepared and was delicious. The price, I thought, was on par with other hibachi places, but the interior was far superior. Absolutely beautiful atmosphere--not cheesy looking--very elegant, actually. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The way Japanese restaurants use to be!!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Ignore the sketchy shopping center exterior. The inside is absolutely beautiful. Wonderful food and service. The cooks still do a "show" and engage the table but not to an annoying degree. Very clean. Only downside is that it is a little pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmurray21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

My husband and I love this place! We eat here a lot...The hibachi is fabulous and we really like the sushi. The volcano roll is our favorite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckycharm2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing