We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and delicious novelty doughnut flavors!”

Ike and Jane Normaltown Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #3 of 11 Dessert in Athens
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious novelty doughnut flavors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The breakfast sandwiches are delicious, but the real winners are the doughnuts. We bought half a dozen to go for our road trip and really enjoyed every single one.

Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Sammies and Sweets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is my usual weekend lunch place in Athens. I love their pulled pork or turkey sandwiches. I always end up with a little treat after as well. Red velvet donuts were pretty amazing, as are the lemon squares and zucchini bread. They'll give you 10% off if you do their goofy trick for the day. Things like "talk like a pirate" or do your best football cheer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Breakfast at Ike and Jane's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I love Ike and Jane's breakfast biscuits. I'm partial to the soysage, egg, and cheese. The doughnuts are fantastic. They even have amazing vegan desserts, like the banana muffin with peanut butter frosting. Ike and Jane's is a great addition to the Normaltown. It's so nice to be able to walk to a quality bakery and cafe. I also love the burgers at Ike at Night. They even delivered my dinner to the bar next door! Love Ike and Jane's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blazeyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Breakfast in La La Land”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I suppose the scarcity of breakfast spots in Athens is due to the fact that students and their professors tend to sleep in. Whatever the reason, visitors to this academic la la land are left to scrounge for breakfast. Few places open before 9 a.m.

We found one though on Prince Avenue near the medical school. Ike and Jane Cafe and Bakery is cozy and charming. Order coffee, breakfast sandwiches and donuts at the counter. Fresh OJ is available too. Eat inside among the small tables or in nicer weather dine outside at one of the wooden picnic tables. It’s not the Cafe du Monde, but it’s funky and delicious.

The women serving up the baked goods are industrious, smiling, and efficient. The customers come casual. They consisted mostly of students and families with young kids on the Saturday morning we visited. I had the ham, egg and cheese on a fresh bagel. My companions had similar sandwiches. The food was delicious and satisfying. We picked up a dozen donuts for the road, including apple fritters and some bacon, maple donuts. No complaints.

So if you find yourself up and ready for breakfast before 9 am, and you don’t want to pick over whatever your hotel is serving, then try Ike and Jane on Prince Avenue. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wladovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New night menu - Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Now there's a limited new night menu. With a walk up window, it's take out or patio seating. We had good handmade burgers, great buns, and cooked just right. The pickles are special. Nothing fancy but just good food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ike and Jane Normaltown Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Ike and Jane Normaltown Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing