We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Volstead - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Volstead
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Boiling Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place for a beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Not the best burger on the planet but certainly delicious. Very nice staff. 28 beers on tap. Sports on the televisions. A fairly typical college bar.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dea421753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly service, yummy beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here on a Sunday afternoon for lunch and to have a beer. The server we had was excellent! Prompt, friendly, and accommodating. My boyfriend and I both said to surprise us with draft beers, as neither of us is picky. I was given a very tasty IPA and the boyfriend got a golden ale. We ordered our food, and I highly recommend the Buffalo Burger! Delicious. Everything was just lovely. The only reason I give the atmosphere a '4' is because without rugs or carpeting, the bar is super loud, especially since a large and obnoxious group of students came in. No big though. The bar itself if neat, with a strip of ceramic that is icy to keep your beer cold when you put it down! Very neat place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linz7886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, fair food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

OK - so this is more like a bar that serves food, rather than a restaurant. Staff were excellent - real attentive, friendly, polite... I would hire them! Good sized menu, and food was kinda as expected... pleasant, but not really top of the range. But then the price wasn't top of the range either - fair price for fair food. Would I go again - YES. This is a place for eating out with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jellyf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Game Day Headquarters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My friend and I stopped in here for lunch, before the Ole Miss/Georgia football game. We definitely made the right decision. The food and service were great. There was a great adult beverage selection and great drink specials. It had a great Game Day vibe. The Volstead has the coolest bar mechanism, I have ever seen, to keep your beer cold, while you drink it. I won't spoil the surprise. You'll have to check it out for yourself. This is definitely the place to pre-game. I am happy to say, I can recommend the Volstead to my friends a tripadvisor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1989Rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This downtown restaurant is an excellent place to eat dinner and watch a couple of ball games. I was alone on business so I ate at the bar. The bar tenders were friendly and very attentive. I ate the fish and chips and was able to swap the french fires for the onion rings. The batter they use for their onion rings and fish is delicious and not greasy. It also helped keep the food hot, moist and very flavorful. The portion size was generous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary28173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Volstead also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing