We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Review of The Volstead - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Volstead
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

ordered "Hanger Steak" (MEDIUM") for FIFTEEN dollars. It came with potatoes which were SOOO burned they looked like sweet potato chunks. The steak was super chewy and over done and NOT MUCH OF IT.
Will not be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rayrayjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy burgers”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Came here for a visit to UGA with 4 teenage boys and moms. We started with ordering fresh kettle chips that were wonderful. The menu had a vast choice of beers. The burgers are tasty. The boys loved them. We will definitely return

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cinnamon97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food was TERRIBLE AND the wait was unnecessarily LONG”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I visited this establishment on 2/17/2014 for dinner. We ordered 3 burgers and an appetizer (Fried Okra). It took over 30 minutes to get the appetizer which was cold and sitting in a pool of grease when it finally reached our table. It took over an hour to get our hamburgers, which were way overcooked and burnt to crisp. We promptly sent the appetizer and two of the burgers back. We didn't bother reordering since we had been there long enough already. The waitress was friendly enough but inattentive to our needs Her only only explanation was that the cook was overwhelmed and the chef was not in the kitchen. Really?? There were only two tables occupied in the whole place. I would have at least expected her to comp the one burger that we did receive. I would suggest that the manager/owner give their entire staff customer service and food preparation training, but maybe a place like this is only concerned with pouring drinks. I was sorely disappointed. Avoid this place at all cost.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lankybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Bother for food”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I've only been on Trivia nights but the food is definitely over priced for the quality. I've been several times thinking it might get better but it hasn't. The drinks are usually disappointing as well. There are far better places to eat in Athens for the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick stop!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Qucik glass of vino here while waiting for a meeting. Local college hangout with young clientele and young, free spirit bartenders and wait staff. My only regret......that I hadn't visited as a younger, twenty-something student. Lots of philosophical bar talk available here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mavfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Volstead also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing