We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to be outside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Creek Nature Center

Sandy Creek Nature Center
Ranked #7 of 50 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The nature center is a facility of the Athens-Clarke County Department of Leisure Services and partners with Sandy Creek Nature Center Inc., a non-profit support group. This 225- acre wildlife sanctuary includes over 4 miles of nature trails, providing access to a variety of habitats typical of the Georgia piedmont: river floodplains, wetlands, upland pine and hardwood forests, fields, ponds, and streams. In 2012, Sandy Creek Nature Center completed a major expansion funded by SPLOST and community partnership dollars. Over 4,000 square feet were added to the Education & Visitor Center, including new exhibits and a planetarium. Sandy Creek Nature Center is open to the public Tuesday through Saturday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Property and trails are open sunrise to sunset daily.
Mountain Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice to be outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went on a Saturday morning. We got there just in time to join a free nature walk around one of the trails. There were 10 of us ranging from ages 16 months to 76 years. It was nice to be outside on a beautiful sunshiny day. But we also ALL greatly enjoyed the exhibit hall. It was neat. The children really enjoyed it. They could touch things and explore. Definitely would go back again. It was all free. They also do birthday parties there, but I do not have any details on that.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashew-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

A good adventure with the kids during the summer. There are numerous trails showing various natural habitats of Georgia. Usually see some sort of wildlife from birds, snakes, turtles, occasional deer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
1 review
“A wonderful gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our family loves going to the Sandy Creek Nature Center, either for an impromptu visit or for a program led by the dedicated and knowledgeable staff and volunteers. The trails are great for little ones (there are forest trails and short boardwalk trails, perfect for a stroller) as well as older children and adults. My kids caught their first fish at Clay Pit Pond, and they all love playing creatively at the puppet center, visiting the planetarium, and seeing the fish, turtles and snakes. Birthday parties there are inexpensive, memorable, and fun. We all have learned so much about nature at Sandy Creek Nature Center, and feel very thankful to have such a wonderful resource right in our own community!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluemountain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great free place to go with your kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

With recent improvements many exhibits are now of interactive science museum quality. A great fun and educational experience. There are also nice outdoor trails. What a great resource for our community!

Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful educational fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We love the Sandy Creek Nature Center. The Athens community and visitors are so fortunate to have a resource like the Nature Center. It's perfect for a short visit to wander around the exhibit hall/visitors' center. The Sandy Creek Nature Center has great educational programs for children of all ages (Babies & Beasties, Knee-High Naturalists, summer camps, etc). Its Annual Snake Day is a don't-miss!

The staff is professional, knowledgeable, helpful, and most importantly, they make learning about nature FUN! The facility is magical and informative, and the staff and visitors take great care of it because it's very clean and in outstanding condition.

We also had a birthday party there recently, and it was educational, easy, affordable and entertaining. The children had a blast learning about nature and even getting to go outside for a short hike.

I cannot say enough positive things about the Nature Center. It is one of our favorite places in Athens. If you haven't visited yet, you are truly missing out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank southlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandy Creek Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Sandy Creek Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing