We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best barbecue in Athens”
Review of Barbeque Shack

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barbeque Shack
Ranked #277 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best barbecue in Athens”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

If you are expecting great Texas or North Carolina style cue, just keep driving by Athens (and perhaps Georgia). In my opinion, this is the best of Athens. The Brunswick stew is fantastic and the pulled pork is reasonably good. The ribs and chicken are passable. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and they finally take credit cards. Open only Thursday through Saturday.

Helpful?
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good barbeque”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Good food and service. We had pork sandwiches with chips and slaw and stew( best ever). My husband loved the banana pudding. This was lunch quick and easy. Will be returning to try the ribs and chicken.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cochran68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ Ribs”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Purchased 1.5 lbs of BBQ ribs to go and was very pleased with the flavor. The staff was very friendly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe_b_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of the best around!”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My husband and I love eating at the BBQ Shack. Not only is their BBQ great, but their stew is the best around, hands down. We live in Hoschton, which is a good 30 min. drive from Athens, but it's worth it for the BBQ!

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UGAFan0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar-B-Q”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I went there on a Thursday for lunch and had not been there in a while. Had a BBQ plate and tea which came out to 9.99. The food was execellent and the waitresses were even better. Its not a cheap lunch but excellent food and service. Heads up they do not take credit cards this is a cash only establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Barbeque Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing