We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you're going to pay the steep prices for a uga football weekend spend a little extra to stay somewhere else. Breakfast was below average basically what tasted like defrosted bagels and muffins. Staff was very unhelpful asked front desk if they could call/recommend a cab and they handed me basically a phone book. For $250 a night I'll pass and pay a little extra for somewhere else

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I were visiting the universtiy, so we weren't particularly looking for the Hilton type room for two. We needed something that was nice and clean for a good price. This was the perfect location! There's a daily breakfast buffet, but if you're looking to reduce the carbs, you might want to consider the Earthfare Market buffet a few blocks down the road. It's a great healthy alternative if you're concerned about staying healthy while on the road. Anyhow, we enjoyed our stay and staff were great too!

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SStravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate the positive feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here two nights during a recent visit to Athens and found it to be a convenient, easy drive to the downtown area. Our room was large, clean and beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was adequate and the staff was nice and helpful. We had a little trouble finding the hotel as it is located behind a liquor store and we missed the sign. The area the hotel was quiet, didn't hear any street noise at all. It is a nice, affordable place to stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for sharing our recent review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and our location is on North Avenue, either through Downtown or exit 11b off Loop 10

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great breakfast: variety of cereal, breads, muffins, waffles, eggs, bacon..really didn't expect this range. The room was really spacious and very comfortable and honestly for the price you annot beat the value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A good, affordable place to stay if you need to be in Athens. Very close to the U-Ga campus and the downtown area.

Not easy to find this place. If you happen to arrive in the evening beware - there are no street lights in the Athens roads, so it's pitch dark. Have an accurate GPS.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed for days at the Sheraton Station Square in Pittsburgh and I can say, without a doubt, that this hotel was far superior. It was cleaner, the staff was nicer, and the management was far superior.

We stayed in six hotels on our trip up and back and this hotel was the top performer! We will go back.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thnak you for sharing you recent review. we are located on North Avenue, which can be accessed either though Downtown or bu exit 11b off Loop 10

We appreciate the feedback on the city lighting too and we wil share that with our local council

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a family member's graduation from the University of Georgia in May. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel room was clean. Location of hotel was relatively close to the campus and downtown restaurants. Continental breakfast had variety of healthy meal choices. I had a great experience and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria2943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.8 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
758 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown

Address: 255 North Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2279 (Formerly Comfort Suites Downtown Athens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £70 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Athens Hotel Athens
Comfort Suites Athens
Athens Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing