We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun weekend!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

While in Athens for a wedding, we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. The hotel was nice, convenient to the wedding, and the rooms were well appointed. Check-in was a little slow..busy weekend, several weddings that weekend meant a lot of hotel guests yet only one person at check-in....1-2 more for this period of time would have helped. Also, as a gold Hilton member, was surprised to be offered a choice of breakfast versus points....I'd never heard that before....usually receive breakfast coupons as a loyalty perk...just a bit odd. Otherwise, nice stay.....fun weekend....UGA, friends, wedding festivities, and great food....I mean really!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your candid comments. We need to hear the truth in order to improve. We strive to provide the best service at all times, in all departments and your feedback certainly helps us understand our areas to improve. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    199
    81
    25
    10
See reviews for
200
121
26
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a well run hotel well suited for events at the Classic Center. it's location is excellent. rooms are clean and nice. It is surprisingly quiet. Reservations for a big convention can be challenging. Food has been a weakness in the past but we did not try it this year. Overall a very good experience. We have stayed at this hotel for this event for five plus years.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank pastorkeith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are so glad to hear from such a loyal customer. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent a week here while my daughter attended a UGA Summer Academy day camp. The location is right in downtown and across from the Classic Center. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance and campus is just a couple of blocks away. We had a couple of issues and requests and they were all attended to immediately and followed up with a phone call to make sure they met our satisfaction. (non-working TV and roll-away bed) They do charge for parking but it was worth it and the parking garage is convenient and secure. The rooms were spacious and clean and the lobby was very nice. The rooms have a microwave and small refrigerator to keep your own items in, as well as the standard coffee maker. Our kids enjoyed the small indoor pool too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We truly appreciate your kind comments. It is great to hear your requests were met quickly and to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent hotel and staff very professional. Thank goodness there was hotel parking in a parking deck but it was an additional charge. Beautiful hotel, lobby, and rooms. Really appreciated having beverage ( water, tea, and coffee) available in lobby all day. Great location for our downtown activities!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank barbarawY1159BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are pleased to hear from so many satisfied guests. Thank you for sharing such detailed information for our next guests who may not be as familiar with our hotel and the Classic City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo MS
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

In town for wedding so it was convenient. Nothing particularly outstanding but nothing bad. AC was loud and the beds were soft and uncomfortable. Bout it. Check in/out was quick, the room was clean and there was ample hot water for 4 showers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you. It is good to know our showers are good and hot-even for 4 guests. Next time, we hope to impress a bit more. We pride ourselves on "wowing" our guests. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice quality hotel across street from Classic Center and located in Downtown Athens. Eat and play downtown without getting in a car. Small, but clean indoor pool- great for kids as it's shallow. The parking deck is handy. The lobby is small so there's not a lot of room to gather. We were there for a business meeting and it's a little small to meet folks. It's a nice place to stay and a great location. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank SavannahLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This Hilton Garden Inn is just steps from The Classic Center, two blocks from UGA, and in the middle of downtown Athens. The location makes this hotel great and the excellent service make it even better! Walking distance from great restaurants and bars. Parking is convenient - especially if you have business at the Classic Center. The business center, small indoor pool, and breakfast buffet are nice, too. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sybil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We appreciate your high praise. Thank you for yopur business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
722 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601-2751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Classic Center, Athens primary meeting/concert venue. Walking distance to over 75 unique eateries and pubs in a very quaint setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing