We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good that your Mammy will slap you...”
Review of Weaver D's

Weaver D's
Ranked #40 of 415 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“So good that your Mammy will slap you...”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Weaver D's is an absolute gem of a down home, nothing fancy joint, and I mean that in a good way. The hardest part of eating here is deciding between the fried chicken and the meat loaf. Heck, order 'em both and wallow out the door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have lived in Athens for about 3 years and, until now, have never visited the famed Weaver D's. We visited during a time of day when there was no crowd. In fact, we were the only ones in the restaurant. The food was, for the most part pretty standard. I was not blown away by it. If I still lived in Athens, I am not sure that I would visit again when there are so many other places with equally as good, if not better, food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love that fried chicken”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The fried chicken,squash casserole, fried corn & corn bread is wonderful! I love Southern cooking & you can't get food like this in upstate NY.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ask for the poor mans special it's the bomb!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Can be expensive but just ask for the poor mans special it's the bomb! Weaver D can be rude but you gotta get past that and get to the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YummyInMyTummy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
136 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just like I remembered”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I went back there when I was in town for UGA homecoming. Nothing has changed. Great soul food and Weaver is still working the front. Everything on the menu is good, but I'm partial to the meatloaf. Folks tailgating at the games still order large amounts of his fried chicken. If for some reason you don't get full on your meal, order some homemade cobbler. Can't wait till we go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdmarett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weaver D's also viewed

 

Been to Weaver D's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing