We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food - ok price”
Review of La Parilla

La Parilla
Ranked #66 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Champaign, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok food - ok price”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

If you're looking for average, run of the mill Mexican food - this is your place. The food was decent, in my opinion. I did, however, really enjoy my sangria. Also, the servers just don't appear to be incredibly friendly. Maybe we were there on an off night - I am willing to try again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank illini511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mostly good, interesting food”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The food was good, just not great. The service is very friendly but the noise level sometimes makes it difficult to understand what others are asking. It also makes it difficult for the server to hear your order. Even when we received the wrong appetizer, though, they were very gracious and quickly brought us what we ordered.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrD-UGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must Try!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

To be honest, I'm not a big Mexcian food eater. My wife, though, loves it. So, every once in a while, I will tell her that we can go eat Mexican food. I have found that getting a chicken and cheese quesadilla is the closest thing to authentic Mexican food that I like. Well, we decided to try the new La Parilla that opened up across the street from our apartment (on the East side, over by Choo Choo and the Omni Club) for dinner one Saturday evening. We both absolutely loved it! We got seated with barely any wait, we placed our orders, the food came out in literally less than five minutes, we ate the deliciousness, tried fried ice cream for the first time, and paid a fair price for it all. My wife also ordered a margarita, but she's not big on tasting the actual alcohol, so if you like getting your money's worth of liquor, then you'll be happy with them...she said it tasted great regardless. I don't like the chicken quesadillas that come with all of those onions and stuff already in the chicken, and this place doesn't do that. In fact, their chicken is so tender and good. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience so much that we went back for an after-church Sunday lunch with some friends the next day! I told my wife that we can eat Mexican more now, but only if it's this place :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhkeim93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Posted for this resturant before cause its great but I think I forgot to tell ya'll need to try the pichers of Margaritas ask for the Texas Margaritas they are out of this world and well worth the price,perfect food for after the holiday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank compassion691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Crazy Italian gives thumbs up”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Last school year , our family hosted an Italian exchange student. For her seventeenth (17) birthday , we celebrated at La Parilla.She had never had mexican food before. I suggested she try a combination dinner so she would
have a variety. She thought she had hit the jackpot. She raved about how delicious the food was and just kept shoveling it in. It was very amusing to see her enjoying dinner. The staff and service are great and the food is always delicious. This is the only real mexican place we dine at.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuntrykruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Parilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing