We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stop overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Athens
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
Old Town, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place to stop overnight”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Staff was great, price wonderful.. Didnt have to go to far for a great dinner, the only thing wrong was that the pool was cloudy and buggy.. after driving for hours and wanted to just enjoy a dip in the pool, we were very disappointed that you couldnt even see the bottom of the pool due to the cloudy water along with their were bugs all on top.. other than that this was a great place to stop over at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    105
    65
    40
    27
See reviews for
115
73
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently to see a concert in Athens, GA - the price was decent and it was reasonably close to where I wanted to be. A solid "working man's" hotel, the rooms were updated, clean, beds comfortable, A/C was fairly quiet, and a decent breakfast was included. Perhaps most important to me - the staff was great. I left my phone charger in the room...called the morning after departure, the gentlemen, kindly, said they would look for it, and a few hours later he called back to say it was found. They shipped it, properly packaged, to me, at no charge. Great job!!! Thank you. I definitely recommend this hotel, recognizing it is not the Hilton, but a good hotel at a solid value.

Room Tip: Suggest second floor, as folks tend to congregate on ground floor. Quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaJoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Front Office Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay. As you know, many items are forgotten during travel and we are glad we are able to return items when possible. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Park, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Nice stop for us. We like to drive 6-7 hours on our way from Florida . We found the Best Western a good stop. We have stopped in a few college towns and found it overrun with students. Since it was summer break for the UGA students we were able to take our time shopping downtown and grap dinner with no wait. We plan to make this one of our regular stops.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We are happy to hear you felt so comfortable here! We would be happy to have you as a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is my second time at the Best Western Athens. My daughter and I stayed for her UGA Orientation this summer and we are back to move her in for her first year at UGA. The staff has been so helpful with directions and great places to eat. I'm so glad that I have a place that I feel comfortable for the next four years. I will be back for parents weekend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I'm in Athens on business two days a week and I've stayed here virtually every week for the past year. The front desk staff is wonderful and the management is terrific as well. Everyone involved with the hotel is pleasant and courteous and eager to please. The hotel is wonderfully located and a true bargain for the price. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Athens.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We are so pleased that you feel like this is "home-away-from-home" during your travels for work. Please let us know if you need anything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dadeville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May during the NCAA tennis tournament. Although not dirty, the rooms weren't clean and we felt the breakfast was lacking. We don't feel that this place is up to Best Western's standard. The shower wasn't very good and it was very noisy. Plus, the beds were horribly uncomfortable. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Front Office Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Im am so sorry you encountered noise during your stay; we were extremely busy with several groups during that time period and they can be loud when arriving or leaving in a group setting. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very nice and clean. No complaint.
Not the most luxurious I have been to, but really great price and clean made me happy.
I recommend if you need a place to stay.
Continental breakfast is really basic, but not bad.
Good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olympe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.9 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Athens

Property: Best Western Athens
Address: 170 N Milledge Ave, Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus and is a proud member of Coach Mark Richt's UGA Football Dawg family. The hotel is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as boutique shops, as well as UGA sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located less than a mile away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area which includes musical night life, and award winning restaurants. For passing travelers, the Best Western motel is conveniently located located near 441 North and South, with a staff ready to assist with any traveling questions. Make sure to stop by the world-famous Varsity Restaurant located right across the street! Best Western Athens is pleased to announce that we are now under construction on our new tower that will sit just off of historic Milledge Avenue. With this project, we will become a Best Western Plus upon completion. In the tower, we will be adding 55 guest rooms that will be interior corridor and 100% smoke free. All guests will have access to a hot complimentary breakfast every morning- next to this breakfast area will be meeting space that can host all kinds of events from wedding parties to business meetings. Guests will also have access to a 600 square foot workout facility as well as a spa to relax in during their free time. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi of course, and access to a business center that can be utilized to print documents if necessary. The future looks bright for us here at Best Western Athens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing