We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens, GA Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Athens
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Athens, GA Best Western”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a good place to stay with my dog. The room was simple and clean, the nightly rate for the dog was $10/night which was the best rate I found in town for pets. Would recommend it for anyone needing accommodations when traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay Doreen Y! Hopefully your fury friend enjoyed this visit as well. Being a pet friendly option in Athens that offers a comfortable environment is what we strive to offer all travelers- while not charging an excessive pet fee like many properties do. Thank you for the review, and I hope the rest of your vacation was enjoyable. Call us for anything! 706-546-7311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    105
    63
    37
    26
See reviews for
114
71
39
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Got to give a shout out to the Best Western in Athens, GA. Just a brisk walk from downtown Athens and the University of Georgia, this BW covers all of the bases. Super friendly staff, very clean rooms, safe area -- just a fine, reasonable place to stay. If you're looking for a safe, clean hotel in a good location: This is it.

Be safe out there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Larry S! As you mentioned, we are right on the cusp of downtown Athens, yet far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle that the Athens scene can have on big weekends. Having a top-notch staff that offers a clean and comfortable place to stay at a competitive price is something we take pride in. Thank you for staying- hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My family and I had to visit the Athens area due to a death in the family. Since I have a Best Western Rewards card it is the first hotel that I began looking for. I will be honest and say that I was a little concerned when I drove up and saw that the entrance to my room would be an outside door. I normally look for hotels that have a access to the rooms only once you are inside the main building. After checking in and meeting staff this was no longer a concern for me. I felt completely safe and at ease at this hotel. The staff at this location was wonderful. I will stay here again if I ever visit Athens again. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms most convient as I did not notice an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
I am so sorry to hear of your family's loss Michelle H. I hope the time spent in Athens during your family's time of mourning went as smoothly as possible. We do appreciate you all staying with us, and I am pleased to hear that our staff made you all feel comfortable. Thank you for the comments and I hope you are doing doing well upon losing your family member. Call should you need anything. 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The staff was very helpful and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. The only real drawback is the tiny sized breakfast are, however there is a plan in motion to increase it dramatically. Overall this is a very decent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jarvis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your contribution Jarvis T! We take pride in providing superior customer service and top notch cleanliness- while still at an affordable price. Like you mentioned, we will soon be having a big construction project! This will give us a new tower that will over look Milledge Avenue, while also peering into our city's historic downtown district. The addition will include the larger breakfast area, indoor pool, and of course additional rooms. I appreciate your review, and we hope to see you again soon! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went over to Athens for a Football game at the last minute. The Best Western came open late on Friday night. We booked it after reading Tripadvisor reviews. The Motel is simple but very clean. The location is the key. We walked 15 mins to Sanford stadium, then 12 mins to Downtown and finally, 10 mins to our Motel. We saw a game, ate dinner Downtown and stopped for drinks before walking back. We never had to drive or try to take a Taxi. If you wish to stay central to Athens, this is a great bet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Glad you chose to stay with us James H! I hope you had fun at the football game, and that you enjoyed the downtown Athens scene. We too feel our location is a plus. Being central to most everything in Athens is a key, like you said, and something our customers can use to their advantage. Thank you for staying with on your football weekend- we hope to see you again in the future! Call us for anything you might need! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have stayed at this Best Western many times and will do so again. The staff is friendly and welcoming, and Julian went way out of his way to accommodate and assist me with a minor issue (some tv channels had no sound). The room was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed yet another stay Kathleen S! I am pleased to hear that Julian was able to assist you with your T.V. situation- I will be sure to pass your comments along to him. Cleanliness is a priority here at Best Western Athens, and something my staff takes great pride in. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to town, please give us a call should you need anything! 706-546-7311. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The room was large, and had a fridge and a microwave. There is no elevator, and there are two floors. The clientel is not high class. Location is very good for the University. The free breakfast was pretty good. Overall, a pretty good experiance for someone interested to get maximum value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We appreciate your comments Joel W! It is our opinion that all rooms in today's market should include a fridge/microwave combo, as all of rooms do. People always ask "is it extra for a room with these appliances" and the answer is "no!" Being close to everything in Athens is a plus for guests that stay with us, as well as having a FREE breakfast every morning. Give us a call if necessary! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.9 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Athens

Property: Best Western Athens
Address: 170 N Milledge Ave, Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus and is a proud member of Coach Mark Richt's UGA Football Dawg family. The hotel is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as boutique shops, as well as UGA sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located less than a mile away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area which includes musical night life, and award winning restaurants. For passing travelers, the Best Western motel is conveniently located located near 441 North and South, with a staff ready to assist with any traveling questions. Make sure to stop by the world-famous Varsity Restaurant located right across the street! Best Western Athens is pleased to announce that we are now under construction on our new tower that will sit just off of historic Milledge Avenue. With this project, we will become a Best Western Plus upon completion. In the tower, we will be adding 55 guest rooms that will be interior corridor and 100% smoke free. All guests will have access to a hot complimentary breakfast every morning- next to this breakfast area will be meeting space that can host all kinds of events from wedding parties to business meetings. Guests will also have access to a 600 square foot workout facility as well as a spa to relax in during their free time. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi of course, and access to a business center that can be utilized to print documents if necessary. The future looks bright for us here at Best Western Athens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing