We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park & Walk location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We chose this Holiday Inn, because we wanted to park free at the hotel & walk to dinner at a nearby restaurant. I thought it was nice that they had designated check in parking spots right outside the lobby door. Easy check in and check out. Some renovations were going on, but I can deal with that if they are making improvements.

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room, request an interior room or a room that was not overlooking either s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuckiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Chuckiepoo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

remodeling and additions are giving the hotel very much a feel of transition. However, the registration desk service was accommodating and personable, the room in excellent condition, and despite there being a lot of young people in the hotel for a conference, the hotel was quiet and restful. With the friendly service, I am hoping that once the upheaval is over with, the relaxed and sociable feel of the hotel will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the North Tower which will give you a view of downtown Athens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for your complimentary review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your positive responses towards our facility and its amenities, and are glad to hear that our staff was warm and helpful towards you. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our ongoing renovations, and greatly appreciate your understanding accommodation as we progress. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Pros: As everyone has already said, the location is VERY convenient. Perfect if you plan on going out to see the nightlife in the downtown area. The room was extremely spacious and had a nice view of downtown. The bathroom was very clean and well lit. We were there for New Years so we expected a lot of noise but beyond people walking by our room, we did not hear anything from the outside nor next door to us which was great. The staff was efficient and friendly which is nice especially when you might expect them to be tired from dealing with college aged people all day long. Stayed in the "Executive Tower" so not sure how other rooms compared.

Cons: The main con was the layout of the hotel. We did not find any signage directing us on where to go to find the lobby area from our room (entered from a side entrance after parking). It was just overall difficult to get where you wanted to go in the hotel. Also, they had just started a renovation it seemed like so parking was very scarce and we had to park a long ways away from our room. Plus, they had an ad saying that the renovation was for Fall 2013, but obviously that deadline was not met, not that this was a factor for us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the executive tower if available, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scfarrant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and staff at our hotel, and that your sleep was sound and undisturbed. We also offer our apologies for your troubles with the hotel layout, and will do our best to improve our direction in the future. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This property is conveniently located right in the heart of downtown Athens, right next to campus. Our king bed was also quite comfortable. Otherwise, not a whole lot going on for this hotel. The staff was not cooperative at all with an early check-in (tried to check in at 12:30 instead of their standard 3:00) and charged me an upgrade fee to get into a different "tower" with rooms that were clean. Also, the hotel bar and grille never seemed to be open (we tried to meet there for a drink at 4:00 and 10:00 on a Saturday, and it was closed both times). The room TV was very small, took a long time to "warm up" and turn on, and it took forever to change channels (and no channel guide was provided). The layout of the hotel is also strange and not easy to navigate. I'd stay here again for the sake of location and price (even with the small fee my room was only $78), but it was far from a top-notch property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your compliments on our location and pricing, and sincerely apologize for your difficulties with our hotel facilities and materials. We will endeavor to provide better service and materials for you in future stays. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This property is conveniently located right in the heart of downtown Athens, right next to campus. Our king bed was also quite comfortable. Otherwise, not a whole lot going on for this hotel. The staff was not cooperative at all with an early check-in (tried to check in at 12:30 instead of their standard 3:00) and charged me an upgrade fee to get into a different "tower" with rooms that were clean. Also, the hotel bar and grille never seemed to be open (we tried to meet there for a drink at 4:00 and 10:00 on a Saturday, and it was closed both times). The room TV was very small, took a long time to "warm up" and turn on, and it took forever to change channels (and no channel guide was provided). The layout of the hotel is also strange and not easy to navigate. I'd stay here again for the sake of location and price (even with the small fee my room was only $78), but it was far from a top-notch property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UGACrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are so nice! They always go out of their way to help you. When our reservations were messed up at another hotel- they got us in and matched the price. It is in a great location- can't be beat with tons of restaurants and shops across the street. I always stay here for football games.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel and staff. We do our best to take care of our guests and try to exceed their expectations. We are sorry to hear about your reservation mix up, but relieved we were able to find a solution. Please visit us during the next football season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

nice to see hotel redoing the property to update it. was starting to get a bit worn out

PROS: right in the middle of everything - downtown, campus, nightlife etc... clean, remodeled rooms. large size rooms, big TV with nice chanel assortment.

CONS: not a lot of parking during remodel - across street, small lobby can get crowded during busy check in

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens. We are glad you were able to enjoy the local area, night life and some of the improvements we have made to our hotel. We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#4 of 23 in Athens
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
767 reviews
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Athens, GA
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £74 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing