We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed a night here during a work-related trip and it was a very comfortable stay. Didn't interact much with the front desk but they seemed pleasant. Room was nice and the beds were very comfortable (A/C didn't seem to get too cool, but it was good enough). It is important to note that this hotel doesn't provide free breakfast, but the Holiday Inn express nearby does. However, there are a bunch of nice bars/restaurants within walking distance and the hotel itself has a restaurant which seemed to be packed with people, so I assume it was good. There is some construction going on on the hotel grounds, so parking was a little iffy. Overall, it was nice and I would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
To "Comfortable Stay,"

Thank you so much for taking to time to give us feedback on your stay! We're glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience, and that you enjoyed the time spent in our town and at our location. We apologize for any difficulties you may have had with the air conditioning and construction, and offer our sincerest regrets that we were unable to offer you breakfast. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    117
    69
    21
    12
See reviews for
81
50
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great experience, great employees. I will definitely be returning. All Holiday Inns have been re-vamped in recent years and they have constantly lived up to my expectations. I value customer service above all and have never been let down.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchanan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay the only thing we didn't like was the heater was so very loud that everytime it kicked on u had to turn the tv up way loud and it woke u up if u were sleeping other than that great place!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawmarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We chose this Holiday Inn, because we wanted to park free at the hotel & walk to dinner at a nearby restaurant. I thought it was nice that they had designated check in parking spots right outside the lobby door. Easy check in and check out. Some renovations were going on, but I can deal with that if they are making improvements.

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room, request an interior room or a room that was not overlooking either s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Chuckiepoo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
231 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

remodeling and additions are giving the hotel very much a feel of transition. However, the registration desk service was accommodating and personable, the room in excellent condition, and despite there being a lot of young people in the hotel for a conference, the hotel was quiet and restful. With the friendly service, I am hoping that once the upheaval is over with, the relaxed and sociable feel of the hotel will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the North Tower which will give you a view of downtown Athens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your positive responses towards our facility and its amenities, and are glad to hear that our staff was warm and helpful towards you. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our ongoing renovations, and greatly appreciate your understanding accommodation as we progress. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Pros: As everyone has already said, the location is VERY convenient. Perfect if you plan on going out to see the nightlife in the downtown area. The room was extremely spacious and had a nice view of downtown. The bathroom was very clean and well lit. We were there for New Years so we expected a lot of noise but beyond people walking by our room, we did not hear anything from the outside nor next door to us which was great. The staff was efficient and friendly which is nice especially when you might expect them to be tired from dealing with college aged people all day long. Stayed in the "Executive Tower" so not sure how other rooms compared.

Cons: The main con was the layout of the hotel. We did not find any signage directing us on where to go to find the lobby area from our room (entered from a side entrance after parking). It was just overall difficult to get where you wanted to go in the hotel. Also, they had just started a renovation it seemed like so parking was very scarce and we had to park a long ways away from our room. Plus, they had an ad saying that the renovation was for Fall 2013, but obviously that deadline was not met, not that this was a factor for us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the executive tower if available, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scfarrant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and staff at our hotel, and that your sleep was sound and undisturbed. We also offer our apologies for your troubles with the hotel layout, and will do our best to improve our direction in the future. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This property is conveniently located right in the heart of downtown Athens, right next to campus. Our king bed was also quite comfortable. Otherwise, not a whole lot going on for this hotel. The staff was not cooperative at all with an early check-in (tried to check in at 12:30 instead of their standard 3:00) and charged me an upgrade fee to get into a different "tower" with rooms that were clean. Also, the hotel bar and grille never seemed to be open (we tried to meet there for a drink at 4:00 and 10:00 on a Saturday, and it was closed both times). The room TV was very small, took a long time to "warm up" and turn on, and it took forever to change channels (and no channel guide was provided). The layout of the hotel is also strange and not easy to navigate. I'd stay here again for the sake of location and price (even with the small fee my room was only $78), but it was far from a top-notch property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your compliments on our location and pricing, and sincerely apologize for your difficulties with our hotel facilities and materials. We will endeavor to provide better service and materials for you in future stays. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.5 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing