We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Saint Paul
2 reviews
“Great choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We drove for over 20 hours from MN and the front desk found us rooms hours before check-in so we could sleep! Staff was super friendly and always said hello. The beds were so comfortable!!!!!! I want to know where they get their pillows. Very nice place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squishes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Squishes84,

We are pleased to hear our front desk staff was able to accommodate you with an early check-in after 20 hours of traveling. We do our best to give our guests the best friendly service with a smile. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    117
    69
    21
    12
See reviews for
81
50
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is a beautiful hotel with great access to UGA and surrounding area.

Overall I enjoyed the stay and the staff were super friendly and helpful. One thing I would mention would be the absence of signs leading to the hotel. I could not find the entrance of the hotel so I took the back door entrance that took me through the conference rooms. We found the Lobby but had a bit of hard time looking for it as the signage that would lead us to the lobby was not that visible.

After getting our keys, looking for the elevator was another challenge. For the first time, I got lost looking for my room. Yet again, I blame it on the signs not being clearly visible at a distance. A small word of advice, the south tower elevators are located to the right from the stairs leading from the reception, next to the restaurant, and the north tower is located to the left, when you walk up the stairs. at the end of the long corridor.

The hotel is going through major construction and renovation and it can be very noisy. But beware of the construction taking place in front of the hotel. These guys start working at 5am. .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gihan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Gihan J
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Athens. Thank you also for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly be happy to share with our associates your comments regarding their being friendly and helpful.

We apologize for the construction that we are doing in the front of the hotel and hope to have completed soon so that our guests will have a better experience at checkin. There is also construction going on right across the street from the hotel and yes they do start early and have disturbed some of our guests. We do have signage ordered to make it easier for the guests to find the locations in the hotel and thank you for the advice. If there is anything you would like to discuss concerning our receint stay or a future stay please feel free to contact us directly at (706) 549-4433.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Athens and we look forward to your return.

Carol Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My children and I stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to North Carolina from Florida. We had a pleasant stay. The room was clean and big. The view was of parts of downtown Athens. The check-in and check-out was easy and the desk agents were very polite & friendly. We did not utilize the pool or the exercise room, but both seemed clean and maintained. The room was quiet and we did not hear any atypical hotel noise. Just an occasional door slam, which is very common and almost impossible to reduce in sound. This hotel is located directly across the street from UGA and many areas of downtown Athens are within easy walking distance. It is a cool and quirky little city. I only have a couple of "complaints". The hotel is big with, I think, 3 separate towers. It is easy to get lost as there is not a lot of clear signage indicating where you are at in the hotel. Also, there is no free breakfast. The restaurant in the hotel made a yummy breakfast and the service was wonderful, but as expected the cost of breakfast was not cheap. All in all, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Carrie H,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Athens and we appreciate you sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We will be happy to share with our associates how friendly and polite they were. Our associates strive to make sure our guests feel at home and have everything they need during their stay. Our location is great and does have a lot to offer our guests being so close to all of the wonderful restaurants downtown and UGA .

We would love to speak with you regarding the breakfast especially if you have children 12 and under. Please feel free to contact us at (706) 549-4433. Again we thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that the next time you are visiting Athens we can be your home away from home again.

Carol Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May Beach
Level Contributor
495 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The property I normally use was full, so we stayed here for a change. I wasn't expecting much, but was very pleasantly surprised. First of all the parking is free. Where I normally stay, I have to pay to park. They do offer shuttle service, but it is irregular and only available if there is enough staff for someone to leave. It is located on the edge of town, so convenient for restaurants. Of course, it is also convenient to the university itself. The staff were all very friendly. The toilet broke and was fixed within the hour. The beds were very comfortable and there was no noise anywhere. Where I usually stay, I hear so much noise in the hall. The WIFI worked pretty well for me - occasionally it slowed down. I had 5 rooms and was told it wasn't very good in some of the other rooms. The breakfast is pretty good with a lot of variety, although nothing is cooked to order. It is a regular restaurant, so I imagine that could be done. The breakfast option was worth the price, but I think next time I'll just use the free coffee service for the mornings I don't want to eat. The room itself was clean and comfortable and had a microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was large, comfortable and clean! I have been traveling a lot and that hasn't been the case in so many places. The daily room service was also dependable over the entire week. I would definitely stay here again and also recommend it. By the way, there is a small pool and exercise room, although there is no hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonCapeMayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear DonCapeMayBeach,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Athens. We agree that our location is perfect our guests to see what Athens has to offer and is right by UGA. We will be happy to share your comments concerning the cleanliness of the rooms with our housekeeping staff who take pride in taking care of our guests. The restaurant does offer a great buffet at a reasonable price and we also offer a menu with cook to order for those that prefer that over the buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Athens and we certainly look forward to being able to accommodate you on your next visit to the area. Should you need assistance with anything please feel free to contact the hotel directly at (706)549-4433.

C. Evans,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My conference used the Holiday Inn as its hotel, right on the edge of the UGA campus where we met. It makes walking onto the campus quite easy. It is also easy to walk to downtown restaurants and pubs. Check in and Check out were fairly easy and the staff is pleasant as they roll with the punches. My employer was supposed to prepay the room and, for some reason, it had not been prepaid. The staff rolled with it and agreed to wait upon a priority mailed check. Rooms are comfortable and pleasantly decorated. All features like tv, fridge, wifi worked well with no hassles. You will need to run the room ventilation system to block out street noise. When it was time to pack up and leave, a call to the lobby brought a luggage cart to my door. As others have noted, it is a great base camp in a town where walking is easier than driving. If you need to do research in the Hargrett Library, Russell Building, this is definitely where you want to stay. 10 minute walk between the two places easily. A Groome's shuttle regularly picked up visitors for the Atlanta airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our stay was for three nights, and we were within very close walking distance from the downtown restaurants and shopping, as well as the University of Georgia. Our hotel room was in the tower, and appeared to be newly renovated/redecorated. The room was clean, which is the most important thing to me, along with safety. The staff, including front desk and cleaners, were all extremely friendly. My only complaint is something beyond the control of the hotel. There is a massive construction project across the street, and on the second night we were there, they worked during the night and I was woken several times by the noise of the equipment. Parking was free and convenient to our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel provided excellent operating point for checking out the university and downtown area and finding a great place for dinner. You can walk to everything from the hotel in 5 to 10 minutes and it is safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPSMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.5 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing