We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Pleasant Stay”

Howard Johnson Inn Athens
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Athens
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Atlanta
2 reviews
“Great Location, Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here over the weekend...staff was friendly, room was actually better than I expected for a Howard Johnson (mine had a flat-panel tv), location was great (quick drive to food and downtown)...would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    67
    90
    49
    63
See reviews for
118
59
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BEAUFORT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I booked my reservation based on the photos that were posted on the website. The website pictures must have been when it first opened, because when I arrived I was not impressed. The Service provided at the front desk was great (I think her name was Keisha). The room had a smell of being closed up. The bed coverings were obviously worn and need to be replaced. The sliding glass doors that led to the poolside were secured by some make shift locking system and the original locks were incapacitated. There was no night time manager around to deal with my concerns of a backed up tub, a toliet that would stay still when you sat on it and the three moves that was made to accomodate me. Needless to say, it was bad, however the desk clerk helped me out as much as she could, but was unable to provide any discounts of any sort, because she was not the manager. During my 3 day stay a manager never came to my room, left a message or anything to address my concerns. Needless to say I will not stay at another HOJO if I can help it. I will pay the extra money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank MR G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTA
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The sheets had holes and so did the bedspreads, probably from the moth that lived in ur room the night we were there.The sheet ripped in half when we turned down the bedand the towels were tiny. The refrigerator froze everything and the shower curtain was hangning our of the room.
The lone desk person did what she could but she was alone and could no leave the desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MARGARET M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVANNAH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

the amount they charged was unbelievable. It was not very clean and the room smelled. The breakfast was awful!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank OLIVIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend. Once again the service, room, and breakfast was GREAT! I highly recommend to hotel..What a bargain! Keep up the Great Work! The frontdesk agent was very professional with a great personality...He deserves a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDELON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POULAN
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We came up for the GA/FAU football game, the room was clean and we enjoyed the stay, the only this that I was disappointed with was the HUGH price increase during football weekends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JACQUELYN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagrange
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Room was made available as soon as they could get it ready--very nice front desk personnel. Checkin was quick and efficient. No problems. Patio door was difficult to open/lock--felt slightly insecure but husband able to tighten lock. Did not use patio though.
Preferred towels be available nearer to pool vs having to go to front office to get towels for swimming; otherwise no problems. Continental breakfast was very good; plenty of variety.
Definitely would visit again! Thanks Howard Johnson; you made our short visit very pleasant. The Englebry's p.s. Smoke alarm went off several times during last night there; blower to a/c was problem but no fire. Front desk gave $10 off that night stay; to check into fixing a/c.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#14 of 23 in Athens
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Athens
Address: 2465 W Broad St, Athens, GA 30606-3419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Athens
Athens Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing