We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived early in the day and the only room available was a...”

Howard Johnson Inn Athens
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Athens
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    67
    90
    49
    62
See reviews for
118
59
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was VERY disappointed with this hotel. I booked online and arrived to find they placed my family and I in a Smoking room due to the fact that I booked over the Internet. The facility looked run down and my room was dirty, even though the front desk assured me it was "deep cleaned". The carpets and chairs had stains all over and the bathroom mirror had the remains of a message written on it. The shower curtain was hanging on by a single screw on both sides that were very loose. Due to all of the events going on in the area, I was not able to get a new room and was stuck there in a stinky disgusting hotel room with my children. I will NEVER stay at a Howard Johnson again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We deeply regret that we fell short in meeting your expectations with the booking process, the room that you reserved as well as the cleanliness of the room. Please accept our sincere apology and be rest assured that your comments are taken to heart and we will do everything to ensure that these issues are rectified.

Your comments will give us the opportunity to correct our deficiencies and we are grateful that you made the effort to share your experience with us. We will make an assessment of the condition of our rooms so that we may be able to provide you a far better experience should you reconsider and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint marys, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We had a unfortunate mix up with our hotels in athens, so we were placed at the Howard Johnson. By all means of filth, this place fit the definition. The first hours our staff noticed the bed sheets were spotted with a brown substance. I noticed this, recognized it as blood (as a mortician you know this stuff!). So we stripped the sheets off, the best surprise of our trip was found there. Urine soaked bed covers, not on one but multiple beds at that. Stripped those suckers off and took lots of pictures and demanded new sheets from the office. By the time i had got to the office 3 people we also complaining of the same situation. And asked for a different room. The " clerck" said they have no available rooms. She suggested to check out or deal with it. I was so royally pissed at this time and asked for just plain bed sheets, and was shot down immediately withe the "we have none available" with a threat from a mother to call the local news for a on-TV investigation, 2 large trash bags came forth from behind the desk. Will never stay here again! no refund,apology or help offered. The pictures have been sent to HHS for a inspection reminder. Worst stay in my life.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank coastalcamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
It brings us great sorrow when we read that you experienced such poor service at our hotel. We understand your disappointment with regards to the room condition and the appalling condition of the bed sheets. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience it has caused you.
We know that we have failed you. Please be assured that your concerns will not go unnoticed and we will definitely inspect each and every room to rectify the deficiencies you have mentioned. We will meet with our staff members as well to ensure that we provide them with the correct way to treat our valued guests.

We are hoping that you will reconsider and give us a chance to show you a far better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I had high school students with me, and rooms were clean and well equipped. Breakfast not good at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Your voice is of utmost importance to us, as it is our aim to provide the highest level of service to each guest who stays with us. Thank you very much for appreciating our good sized rooms and facilities as well as the reasonable room prices. As for the quality of food served at breakfast, we will give this matter due attention in order attain our goal. Please do consider us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very nice stay. Clean and appeared to be freshly painted with very nice color combinations. Gentleman at the front desk when I checked in was very nice and helpful. I thought breakfast should have included fresh fruit.




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Athens, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We appreciate your good review about our hotel. It is an honor to know that you had a very nice stay, and that you acknowledge the cleanliness of our hotel and customer service. We will surely take note your opinion about our breakfast. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#14 of 23 in Athens
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Athens

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Athens
Address: 2465 W Broad St, Athens, GA 30606-3419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Athens
Athens Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing