We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Athens
1 review
“never again”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

website said they were two blocks from the music venue we had tickets for which is why we stayed there.it's 2 miles and a minimum $25 cab ride. i reserved my room with a card and paid cash at the counter. they charged my card anyways (3 weeks later) and won't return my money or phone calls. water came out brown & rooms were dirty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    15
    20
    72
See reviews for
20
29
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel room was not clean, 3 of the 4 lights were not working, the room was in unkept condition!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Cartersville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stupidly left our travel arrangements until the last minute, and when we finally got around to booking a hotel we discovered that the Travelodge Athens was the only one left with any vacancy. We now understand why. We exited the car to the sound of a domestic dispute in one of the rooms, and had to wait ten minutes in the lobby for anyone to show up (while admiring their disassembled, ten-year-old computer). We had booked a double non-smoking room; our room (# 107) turned out to be a single that reeked of stale tobacco. Moreover, it was rather dilapidated: the air conditioner was falling apart, the hair dryer nonfunctional, the shower curtain rod coming out of the wall, the floors filthy, the furniture scraped and tattered. Even the complimentary shampoo bottle was almost empty. I suppose that the hotel can't be held responsible for the loud conversations in the hall or the car alarm that went off at 1:00 am, but it did give off the depressing air of a place for drug deals or committing suicide.

Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The room were clean but the physical condition of the rooms and building was terrible, floor was wet from a leaking air conditioner, shower did not work and every thing needed paint.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Bradshaw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The room was pretty average. The bed was good. The bathroom kinda sucked. Lighting was not very quality. Quiet during the stay. I stayed for a whole week. Breakfast is very limited but the coffee was good. Coffee pot in room didn't work. For the price I paid for the room it was worth the stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank B3amt3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#17 of 23 in Athens
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 898 W Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2512 (Formerly Travelodge Athens)
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic college town of Athens, Georgia and all it has to offer while staying at the Americas Best Value Inn Athens, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only less than a mile from the University of Georgia and historic downtown Athens, our hotel is conveniently located off Highway 441 on on West Broad Street. Key local attractions include the historic 40 Watt Club, Sanford Stadium, and University of Georgia at Athens. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including a free Wi-Fi, late checkout and a safety deposit box at the front desk. Sorry, no pets are allowed. Our hotel is 100 percent smoke free for our guests convenience. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free continental breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our seasonal outdoor pool, open May to September. Visitors in town for business will be sure to take advantage of our business services, featuring free Wi-Fi, copy, and fax services. Each of our 40 guest rooms/suites feature the ambiance of home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, desk with lamp, and table with chairs. Iron, ironing board, and hairdryer are available upon request at the front desk. Americas Best Value Inn Athens is your best choice within the "Classic City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Atlanta. At Americas Best Value Inn Athens our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Athens, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing