We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I've spent more than 10 consecutive nights there. The rooms are dated and some are dark too. But the service was good, as well as the free breakfast, and the hotel is very well located (at walking distance from bars and restaurants). Overall, I haven't had to complain about the noise except on Saturday night when the hotel was a bit crowded. Given the price, I'd really recommend for a short stay during week days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lumikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear lumikam,

Thank you so much for the feedback. I appreciate the compliment regarding our staff service and location. We appreciate you taking the time to provide critical feedback which we use to help us improve our services for you and all our future guests. We are sorry for the condition of the rooms and noise experienced. I assure you that we will take appropriate steps to provide exceptional service to each guest. Thank you again for your thoughts and suggestions.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed here twice for UGA football games in the last year. You pay $500 and upwards (plus tax) for the weekend (there is a 2-night minimum stay required). Obviously, you pay a premium for game weekends and this location (walking distance to tailgating and stadium), so we did not expect anything fancy. However, there was visible black mold/mildew on the ceiling of the room and the walls of the bathroom. Some walls have been repainted or covered up with mirrors, so I have to wonder about how much more mold/mildew there might be that we can't see. Unfortunately, I immediately started having significant allergic reactions after the 2nd night staying in this room. It's frustrating, because this is a great location for game weekends, but I don't know that I will pay $500+ again just to feel sick. I have stayed in several other Athens hotels and had no similar problems, so I'll likely be taking my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblinDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear DixieWanderer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were moving my daughter to attend UGA (which hotel is very near BTW) and needed place to stay during orientation then we were planning family trip to mountains in north Georgia, returning in a few days to move her in to dorm. I called to ask for recommendation for storage facilities nearby where we could store my daughter's belongings and hotel manager, Luis, offered to store her belongings at the hotel. The offer was very nice, however when my wife arrived the staff knew nothing of his offer even though I had called to remind Luis only a couple hours before their arrival. And although I had made it clear that it was a pickup truck full, he seemed to be aggravated that we had so much stuff. Furthermore, he had told me he would charge me $25 but when I received my bill I was charged $50. Not really a problem but thought it was not what he said. Anyway, for the money the hotel was OK.

Room Tip: Choose 1st floor to avoid "weird" layout of hotel described by other reviewers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Craig M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Athens, GA.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Other than the bed was updated to provide a modern feel, everything else looks tired and dated. The furniture and cabinets were probably put in 30 years ago. The lights in the room were dim. The swimming pool was full of dead flies! There are other better quality hotels in the area. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggyvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear piggyvenus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us through this review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests as we constantly strive to achieve the highest service and quality standards.

Please accept our sincere apologies for we were not able to meet your standards this time due to the hotel condition which was not up to the level that you expected. Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible.

We appreciate your feedback as this allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write your concerns.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our stay of one night was just average...checking in was standard however lacking any enthusiasm or even much of a smile, lots going on at the time I guess. Also checking in were a group of softball tourney youths...more about that later. The property is in an older building with an odd configuration for the elevator, you have to use a ramp to go to the third floor to take your luggage up or down a flight of stairs to get to an elevator,..weird. Used the exercise room, dirty and small. Back to 'youths'...who ran unsupervised until very late, up and down the halls, lack of care by parents for other guests...Breakfast was good, many choices and all hot and fresh. Room clean enough but not crisp like I prefer. Checkout was a curt nod and no smile or 'how was your stay'. Probably won't stay here if given the chance again. If you need a bed and don't need anything else, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cntrymama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear cntrymama_11,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the elevator and fitness room. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was only here one night so I didn't use any amenities. Check in went well & staff was very friendly. There was a refrig & microwave in the room which was nice. The hotel layout is bit confusing but my room was very large, quite a bit larger than the Holiday Inn down the street (make sure you have the correct hotel as they are both on Broad). The hotel was very clean & I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Super efficient check-in and check-out, although the front staff weren't the friendliest (but I'll take efficiency over friendliness)...Decent breakfast spread and fast internet...rooms were typical 2 queen-size bed room similar to Marriott or Hilton Garden Inn...in the middle of downtown Athens, so within walking distance of restaurants and nightlife...Very satisfied

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 23 in Athens
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Athens

Address: 513 W Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £70 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Athens for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens be your home away from home. Travelers appreciate our corporate atmosphere and how we make comfort and convenience a top priority. Conveniently located off of I-65 at exit 351 and easily accessible to I-565 approximately 20 miles from Huntsville International Airport. (HSV) We are also located near TVA Brownsferry, Delphi, Steelcase, Federal Mogul and Athens State University.Each guest room is beautifully appointed and equipped with a microwave and fridge. Our guest rooms also have a large work space with ergonomic chairs. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure guests. Wireless and hard-wired Internet access is provided free of charge in all guestrooms and public areas. We offer an on-site cardio fitness room and on-site guest laundry for your convenience. We also have an in-door pool and hot tub for year round swimming.Start your day by enjoying our deluxe hot continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to a lighter fare such as yogurt, muffins, toast, or fruit. Don t forget to try our delicious cinnamon roll that you can only get from Holiday Inn Express. If you are in a rush in the morning, just ask for one of our convenient To-go Bags and cinnamon roll box.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens will be everything you expect and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Athens Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing