We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean lodging in the heart of Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Clean lodging in the heart of Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed two nights while house hunting in the Athens area. The room was clean. Housekeeping could have been more timely in making up the room for the second night. (We had to ask for towels when returning to the room after 4 pm.) Complimentary breakfast was pretty good both mornings in a larger than normal common area. Desk personnel were very friendly and helpful during our several interactions. WiFi worked fine, and there is a larger than normal business center. Parking is tight around the property. Only negative -- we had to call about a bunch of gnats in the bathroom sink. Maintenance arrived immediately and took care of the problem. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Closer to the lobby is probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredL757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback, your comments are very important to us and we will do better next time. We look forward to your next visit and keep live our promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    91
    63
    18
    16
See reviews for
70
55
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a business trip. The staff was friendly and checked us in nicely. My hotel room had just had new carpet, paint, and furniture which was nice but the hotel is old and needs some more remodeling. However it is clean and cozy. My ac worked we'll and kept room cold which is how I like it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank polarisdiesel .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I planned a trip to see his Grandmother and all I wanted was to stay in a nice clean hotel so I chose the Holiday Inn. When I got there to register I had lots of cash but they would not except it not even a cash deposit. Told us would could not stay here because we didn't have a credit card or a debit card with enough cash on it. It's America isn't it? So we went to Days Inn and it was half the cost. And not so bad

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpkjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We sincerely apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to send us feedback so that we may resolve this problem. We would like to extend to you the opportunity to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel was the two young ladies working the desk. Busy, but friendly. We were lucky to have a room on the newly renovated floor, with new paint and carpet and a wonderful view of the tree tops. Bathroom was smaller than some, but clean. We had a quiet nights sleep

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mer986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mer986,
We are happy to hear that you enjoy the service at our facility and we thank you for give us the opportunity to provide your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for a veteran's event from Friday to Sunday. The staff was pleasant and helpful. This is a pet friendly hotel, and our dog was welcome with no hassles. Our room was fine. Large enough for our pet and luggage; no side-stepping around the room. The breakfast was sufficient They had lighter food for a quick bite, and wonderful, warm, heavier selections if you had more time to eat, plus plenty of fresh fruit.The woman at the front desk was happy to make a copy of something for me; and she did it with a smile.The banquet food was delicious, no complaints from anyone in our group. The location was within walking distance of several pubs/restaurants in the downtown vicinity. This property is well maintained, the pool was clean as were the grounds around the building. I would return here if I was in the Athens, downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Our team is happy to have your feedback and learn that the daily efforts to please our costumers has been accomplish, we are happy that your event and meetings went well. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I complained at breakfast: orange juice not chilled; they seemed surprised when I wanted tea for breakfast and not coffee, horrible selection of cereals ( super sugary), one kind only of yogurt, etc.

But, immediately,, they brought a generous portion of chilled orange juice, remembered the next day that I wanted tea and not coffee, and worked with me to hear my less-than-impressed perceptions of their breakfast selection. And to be fair, those that had the full breakfast buffet (in contrast to the continental) seemed happy with the selection.

Rooms are dated and nondescript, but shower was strong.

Hotel provided easy walking distance to what I needed.

Room Tip: Seems like walls of room are very thin. Choose dates when you don't think drunk and loud alumni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMR3837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Our goal is to provide great accommodations at all times and with your feedback we will made all the necessary changes to improve our quality and service at all times. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was fine overall. We wished we spent a little more and stayed at a nicer hotel around the corner but this wasn't bad. Bathrooms were smaller than many Manhattan hotel rooms I've stayed at. A strong smell of disinfectant throughout the hallways and in the room. But no gross out experiences and the breakfast looked better than what you would normally expect for a free breakfast: I saw biscuits and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDrebinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback, we are committed to do better and we value your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.6 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Athens

Property: Holiday Inn Express Athens
Address: 513 West Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Athens for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens be your home away from home. Travelers appreciate our corporate atmosphere and how we make comfort and convenience a top priority. Conveniently located off of I-65 at exit 351 and easily accessible to I-565 approximately 20 miles from Huntsville International Airport. (HSV) We are also located near TVA Brownsferry, Delphi, Steelcase, Federal Mogul and Athens State University.Each guest room is beautifully appointed and equipped with a microwave and fridge. Our guest rooms also have a large work space with ergonomic chairs. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure guests. Wireless and hard-wired Internet access is provided free of charge in all guestrooms and public areas. We offer an on-site cardio fitness room and on-site guest laundry for your convenience. We also have an in-door pool and hot tub for year round swimming.Start your day by enjoying our deluxe hot continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to a lighter fare such as yogurt, muffins, toast, or fruit. Don t forget to try our delicious cinnamon roll that you can only get from Holiday Inn Express. If you are in a rush in the morning, just ask for one of our convenient To-go Bags and cinnamon roll box.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens will be everything you expect and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Athens Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing