We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but renovating”
Review of Hampton Inn Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Athens
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Athough the level of service was Hilton quality, this hotel is average right now. They appear to be going through renovation, so I am hopeful that it will improve in the future.

There are issues here that are not typical for Hilton:
Bed not pillow top - not as comfortable as most Hampton's
Security lacking (maintenance let me in my room when key wouldn't work without ID)
Odd decor
No outlet near bed
Toilet flush handle falling out
No small store to purchase snacks/drinks (vending machine only)

Location is convenient to restaurants, but the area doesn't feel safe. I was approached twice while out at my car by people asking for money.

Overall, it has the basics and is satisfactory, and the staff was very helpful. It is very clean and will suffice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maweshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed two nights on a business trip and had a very comfortable stay. Room was up-to-date and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, but nothing special. One down side to the hotel is that you cannot turn left on Broad St out of the parking lot. For out of town visitors this can be a problem is you do not know your way around and cannot easily make a U-turn when traffic is heavy. Overall though it was a good experience and will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I purposefully stayed away from downtown Athens to avoid the college crowd and was happy with the quietness of this location. There are plenty of dining options within a short walking distance. It's only 3 miles from downtown Athens, so if you have a car, you are more than close enough to all of the University's attractions and action. Wireless internet worked well (unusual at most hotels) and food was of typical Hampton quality. Staff was friendly and room was clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BR_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great location in Athens and just like most other Hamptons - comfortable rooms, great bed, excellent breakfast. The staff seemed a little overworked but it was a football weekend yet no complaints. If you like Hamptons, this one will satisfy you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim21W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Not the first time I have stayed here but the first time I've written a review. All in all, it was a Hampton. Room was nice and clean. Air was good and cooled the room properly without making a lot of racket. I did not eat at the buffet. It's near a lot of shops and restaurants and within a 5 minute drive to downtown Athens but far enough away to cost much less than staying downtown. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have stayed in many places in Athens over the years, much to our disgust. Most of the motels in this college town are a sticky choice between gross, scary, repulsive and disgusting - and some have the distinction of achieving all of the above. (Don't get me started on the taxis!)

This Hampton Inn is the exception. It was clean. It was quiet. It was pleasant. It was comfortable. It was well-maintained. If you're looking for glass cups, a spacious bathroom, fridge in the room or turndown service, you're in the wrong town.

We were there for graduation ceremonies, and the fact that the Hampton Inn shares a parking lot with the Applebees next door was great for those who wished to celebrate and not have to drive!

But absolutely the best part of this hotel/motel was the people. Hands-down! As usual, I'm pretty demanding, but they handled every request with grace and a smile. In addition I had some bizarre requests in the middle of the night and their staff bent over backwards to meet our needs. They were so impressive I even sent a short note to Corporate about the quality of the staff here.

The only problem we experienced was the wakeup call. Since the next morning was graduation day & we had to be there early, we did a double backup: set the alarm in the room AND asked the front desk for a wake up call. The alarm clock didn't go off - not a peep. And the wakeup call had been entered incorrectly by the front desk and came exactly one hour late. Fortunately we were so excited that we were already awake, so it all worked out = no harm, no foul . . . but it could have been disasterous.

The only other issue was the security system with their front doors. This wasn't a quality problem, but a quick FYI if you decide to stay there: where you have to stand to put in your room key to open the doors after hours is too close to the doors. The sensor doesn't recognize you're there, so you need to stick in your key & then jump back so the doors will open. They don't tell you this when you check in, and you can't always be guaranteed that the front desk staff is going to be there or realize you're there when you try to enter the hotel at night. Weird quirk, but definitely not a deal-breaker - just something you need to know if you're going to try to get up to your room at night.

Overall, a pleasant experience . . . particularly given what we've endured in other places in Athens!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiaskydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a group of people staying here for a conference. The hotel is great. The bathroom needs updating. The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly. It is close to the St. Mary's hospital. My only complaint is the cost of taking a can into downtown. The cabs are expensive!!! The low cost of this hotel plus the cost of the cab....equals it would be less expensive to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The cabs cost is not the hotels fault but, should be taken into account if you plan on going downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaTraveler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
732 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Athens

Address: 2220 West Broad Street, Athens, GA 30606-3431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £90 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Athens Hotel Athens
Athens Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing