We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwiches with Great History”
Review of Hildebrandts

Hildebrandts
Ranked #17 of 491 Restaurants in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are Hildebrandt's. A family-owned, German-inspired delicatessen with a heaping helping of Southern hospitality. We have character. We have style. Our wares and fare have been time-tested and Augusta-approved since 1879, when Nicholas Hildebrandt founded the store as a local grocery. Since then, Hildebrandt's has evolved into both a deli and destination for items of convenience and distinctiveness. We invite you to join us, and to share your experience with others many times over, creating new memories of delicious food, unique gifts and fine conversation.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches with Great History”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

There were three of us, and we all had reubens. They were fantastic! The atmosphere is very laid back with great Augusta charm. We would definitely go again!

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great sandwiches in a great setting”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

to look at the outside you wouldn't know this may be the best sandwiches in Augusta.
I had Louis Choice and it was great. the staff are friendly and helpful. good prices.
I'll be back regularly for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wsjacobsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must stop!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a real sandwich and soda shop from the good ole days! It is still a family run business! Get the club sandwich...my favorite! Say hello to Louanne!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldeTownSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponca, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Almost!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Was driving thru Downtown Augusta today and happen to look over and spotted a sign that said Deli. Just South of Broad on 6th, in a VERY old building 1897. Quaint place, use to be a Grocery yrs back. Now know for " The Best Sandwich in Augusta" Not sure about that, but if you want friendly service @ an old fashion counter, Fresh handmade on the spot sandwiches, in the German frame of mine, this is it! And OMG try the Blenheim Ginger Ale! WHOA, that will hit ya! My wife and I split a Pastrami Reuben on Jewish rye, grilled. It was a pretty good sandwich, but sandwich only, no chips, but a great dill pickle! I only say that because we have had a pastrami on rye at Katz in NYC. ( NOTHING, NOTHING Compares to that ) But we did get this without adding lettuce, tomato or onion. Definitely worth a second visit , and try some other sandwiches. The also have a pork Chop sandwich, Zimmermann's 5 Star Hot Dog ( which I will have to try), the even have a good old fashion Hamburger...They even have a Rachel...You'll have to stop in to see what that is!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dontigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Awesome atmosphere lots of charm with something for everyone. Great value and the foods wonderful too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ncbikerrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hildebrandts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing