We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Emotions”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Emotions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for eleven consecutive nights. My decision to stay at this particular establishment was based onthe recommendations of this web site. Having read the issues with the dog kennel next door, I requested a room on the opposite side of the building. I had no noise from dogs.

The desk staff is great. Desk clerks, housekeeping and breakfast cook all were courteous. The room was comfortable with standard, but not outstanding ammenities. I made a point to tip housekkeping everyday to ensure I would receive good care. This is one area in which I was disappointed. Perhaps it was due to the fact that I stayed so many consecutive days, and it may not be an issue if you are just staying one or two nights, but housekeeping was just not up to my standards. The bed was made, often in a sloppy manner, but made none the less. Every day there was something lacking: a fresh bag for ice, trash can liner, shampoo/conditioner, bath mat. . . always something. My biggest issue with housekeeping was that the place as never dusted, or vacuumed, nor was the bathtub washed the entire eleven nights I stayed there. Maybe it is their policy to just do those things at checkout, but eleven days is too long to wait.

My next issue is the amount of tradesmen that frequent this establishment. Lots of tradesmen arrived with big trucks pulling trailers and took up six to nine parking places each. With several tradesmen checked in at the same time, this created a parking shortage at the hotel, but no one seemed to care, regardless of the fact that I mentioned it to two of the desk clerks.

The final issue I would address would be the fact that some of the tradesmen would leave their doors propped open while they socialized. This created a lot of noise in the hallways. It was after midnight one night when their voices were so loud I just couldn't tune it out and had to call the front desk. A clerk personally went to the room to inform them of the noise caused by leaving their door open, and it was resolved, but that is just the sort of clientele that frequent this location.

This has caused me to question the rating system of Trip Advisors. This was rated the best place in Augusta. I just have to disagree with that rating. There had got to be someplace better.

Room Tip: Select room opposite dog kennel and not on the ground floor. Stay away from the elevators too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuntingdonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    105
    39
    14
    14
See reviews for
182
80
26
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Check-in was fast and easy, room was clean and large. I arrived late and fell asleep immediately. However I woke up around 6am because of laud barking! The dogs in the building right next to the hotel (pet resort) bark pretty much non-stop. I stayed there for three nights and was listening to barking every single morning....Would never stay there again. If you absolutely have to stay in this hotel make sure you choose the room at the right side.

Room Tip: not next the the pet resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickolasChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I was a chaperone for a youth sporting group (HS'ers) in Augusta, GA this February. I decided to book with Comfort Suites after reading the many wonderful reviews and also since they had 2 queens sized beds and pull out sofa in each room. I was not disappointed. The staff is excellent. We always had what we needed or asked if there was something we did need. Beds were excellent, bathrooms clean and modern..Good Breakfast..Hotel is very clean. I was not disappointed in any aspect of my stay with them .I will be recommended it again for next years chaperones.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Due to business, I stay in Augusta about 50 nights a year, and have stayed regularly in about six different hotels in the area over the last decade. I have found the Comforts Suites property on Riverwest Pkwy provides the best overall value when considering room furnishings, cleanliness, breakfast buffet, room cost and managerial responsiveness to needs. They have several top-notch front desk workers that are knowledgeable, friendly and professional. One of their more recent additions is Julie Morrow, who always remembers my name, even when I don't have a reservation. I've never had a bad experience at this property. The hotel is about 3 or 4 years old, but is maintained very well.

Room Tip: The only complaint I have is that there is a dog kennel on one side of the hotel, so I always ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelseyL, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
My colleagues and I thrilled that we have gain you as a loyal guest, thank you very much for sharing your comments on our hotel with TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read to positive comments about our team ,wonderful hotel and all the services we provide, this defiantly not a typical Comfort Suites. Hopefully you will continue to return and enjoy the transformation that will always exceed your expectations I am sure we all agree that our colleagues are our “best attribute” and we are extremely proud of them. I do want to express my sincere appreciation for you for noticing our team and their efforts in making our hotel the best in this area. Your kind observations are very much appreciated. We look forward to your return and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back.

Sincerly,
Kelsey Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grovetown, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was greeted by name upon arrival. My room was large and very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was very impressed with the overall stay,and will be returning everytime i come back to Augusta.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Comfort Inn in Augusta is clean, comfortable, and a short driving distance from numerous restaurants such as Bonefish Grill, Outback, etc. It is very convenient to exit 200 from interstate 20.

The reservation was handled efficiently and when checking in, the hotel clerk was friendly and knowledgeable. The room itself was spacious, clean and came with a large HD TV.

The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked great and was relatively quiet. It is also a nonsmoking hotel which is a big plus.

We asked for a quiet room. It was--until about 4 AM. The building next door is for sale or rent. It appears to be a warehouse of some sort. They have guard dogs. About 4 AM they started barking. They didn't bark until 8 AM but every 15 minutes or so they would start up. One sounded like a beagle and one other sounded like a large dog such as Doberman.

I love hearing a beagle tracking a rabbit in the woods. It isn't nearly as amusing in the very early morning hours.

In short, we got about 6 hours of sleep instead of 8. Perhaps not the fault of the hotel but, if you decide to stay, be sure to get on a side away from the barking dogs if you intend to sleep through the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent just one night here after a long, hard day driving and loading and unloading a large moving trailer. We were given an excellent rate and the room was spotless and roomy. The staff was very friendly; the manager, upon seeing our exhaustion, made a couple of recommendations of local restaurants that deliver so we had a very good pizza and fresh salad delivered. The clerk at the desk gave us all the plates, etc. that we needed to eat comfortably in the room. We were in an even numbered room and our window looked out on the Pet Resort next door. There was a large dog barking in the very early evening, but the barking stopped before we went to bed, so it did not disturb our rest. Breakfast was typical hotel continental breakfast fare. All in all a very nice stay. We will definitely stay here again the next time we come thru Augusta.

Room Tip: Choose an odd numbered room to be on the opposite side of the pet resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augusta hotels
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Augusta
1.2 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#7 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Augusta Riverwatch
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Augusta
Hyatt Place Augusta
#5 of 82 in Augusta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Augusta-Washington Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2911 Riverwest Dr, Augusta, GA 30907-2025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Interstate 20, the Comfort Suites® hotel is less than three miles away from the Augusta National Golf Club, home of the Masters Tournament. This Augusta, GA hotel is also minutes away from local points of interest like the James Brown Arena, the Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center and Augusta State University.Nestled beside the Savannah River, the Augusta Riverwalk and downtown historic Augusta are both less than four miles from the hotel. These areas offer a variety of sightseeing opportunities, museums, numerous entertainment options, specialty shops and unique eateries.Guests of this Augusta, GA hotel are invited to enjoy amenities and features including:•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck•Fitness center and saunaYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free weekday newspapers, a public computer with Internet access, and copy and fax services. Our banquet and meeting rooms can accommodate most business or social functions.All of our spacious guest rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, curved shower rods, hair dryers, flat-screen televisions,spacious work desks, pillow-top mattresses, sofa sleepers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms.For added guest convenience, we offer free parking that can accommodate most cars, trucks and buses. Coin-operated laundry facility is available.Whether your travels bring you to breathtaking Augusta for business or pleasure, make the Comfort Suites hotel your home away from home. Our ideal location, countless amenities and friendly staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing