We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our crew was in the area on construction off and on for over a month, we found the hotel affordable and the management always helpful, especially Hannah! We will definitely stay here again on our next job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah B, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Richard,
Thank you for taking the the time to tell us about your stay. Your feedback is very important to us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us at econolodge. Guest satisfaction is our top priority. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The place is a disgrace. The room stank of smoke and when I asked to be moved, I was offered air freshener. The walls and carpets were dirty and the shower curtain was filthy. It really is a shocking dive.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany S, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention. I would like to personally apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. The service and the comfort of our guests is our top priority. We are currently under new management and I am working hard to make sure that everything is up to standard. I hope in the future you decide to give us another chance so that we can show you our improvements. Thank you for your feedback. It has most defiantly helped us to know what fields we need to improve on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Really bad!
Smokey smelling rooms, made worse by the perfume they used to cover up the smoke.

Cold coffee! Or no coffee at free breakfast Buffett.
Roaches in room.

All of this for a mere $250 a day.
The Master's special rate.
I would not stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank rbgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. Our coffee is made fresh daily, and replenished and frequent intervals. Unfortunately the cold coffee was not brought to our staff's attention. Please be assured that if staff members were made aware, fresh coffee would have been made immediately. We also apologize for the insects. Our property is currently undergoing intensive fumigation to eliminate this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I usually stay at another Econo lodge when I come to town for the masters each year. I took my chances with this one this year because it had a cheap price. Boy did I make a mistake. Being in downtown Augusta was a huge mistake, unsafe, and the motel was a wreck. I checked out and found the Econo lodge I stayed at the prior 3 years and made reservations and paid the extra money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllenGolfPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello Allen. Unfortunately our front desk staff was not notified of any issues in regards to your room, or short stay. Please note that we will do all in our power to accommodate the needs of our guests, but we are not able to do so if we are not notified in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Worst I have had to stay at in years
Our non smoking room had to be fumigated but that did not get rid of the bugs
We gave up the prepaid second night to get out of here
Book elsewhere and commute you must
A two hour commute would have been preferable since we were up and left at 5AM anyway

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BennyCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello Benny. Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences encountered during your recent stay. Our property is currently undergoing intensive fumigation to ensure that any little intruders are exterminated. We apologize again for any discomfort or disappointment this may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Dirt along every corner of the floor. Smelly drunk men at the stairs blasting hank williams jr. No internet, broke fridge, bad beds, dirty. Dirty. DIRTY! Only good part so far is the television and water pressure, after i cleaned the tub.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hello Denise,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I am so sorry to hear of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay! I have notified management of these issues, and must assure you that they will be addressed individually and thoroughly. I apologize again for any inconvenience or disappointment caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Bed Linens had hair in them, floors dirty, had NOT been vacuumed in some time!! bathroom with live and dead bugs, drop of dry blood on bathroom floor. We did not leave anything extra in room! Only toiletries and change of clothes and before we put on clothes we microwaved them!!
Close to hospital and that is the only reason they GET business!!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank MustangMacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bholay, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for trying us and for taking the time to let us know your concerns with our hotel. We take strive to satisfy every guest. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will try us again to serve your lodging needs when you travel back to the Augusta area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augusta hotels
7.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Augusta West
4.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#8 of 86 in Augusta
215 reviews
3.9 mi away
West Bank Inn
West Bank Inn
#16 of 86 in Augusta
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Motel 6 Augusta
Motel 6 Augusta
#67 of 86 in Augusta
87 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Augusta/Near Fort Gordon
3.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Augusta/Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 1103 15th Street, Augusta, GA 30901-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range: £36 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Medical District located conveniently in downtown Augusta, minutes from shopping and local attractions. This Augusta, GA hotel is minutes from Paine College, Georgia Regents University - the state's first medical school (formerly the Medical College of GA), and golf fans will love being minutes from the Augusta National Golf Course, built by Bobby Jones. Additional nearby points of interest include: Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center, William B. Bell Auditorium, Augusta Museum of History, Imperial Theater, President Woodrow Wilson's fully restored home and the Morris Museum of Art. Established in 1736 by General James Edward Oglethorpe and nestled along the banks of the Savannah River, Augusta is the second largest and oldest city in Georgia. The city's nickname -"The Garden City"- was chosen because of the city's many large private gardens. Augusta is 150 miles east of Atlanta, approximately two hours from the beach and mountains. Take time to discover the historic charm of the city with its tree-lined streets and antebellum mansions. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like golfing, tennis, fishing, boating and more. Take a stroll on the Augusta Riverwalk, offering beautiful views of the Savannah River. Dozens of shops, restaurants and historic attractions are located in the area. Hotel amenities and features include: Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all rooms, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary local calls as well as copies of the Augusta Chronicle - the South's oldest newspaper - and coffee all day. This Augusta, GA hotel also offers access to copy and fax services. All guest rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, cable television, HBO and smoking rooms are available upon request. Whether traveling to Georgia for business or pleasure, make the Econo Lodge Downtown your home away from home when visiting the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Augusta
Econo Lodge Augusta
Augusta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing