We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Big Island Candies

Big Island Candies
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
More Info
US$155.21*
and up
Hilo Hot Steam Volcano Tour: Waterfalls - Big Island Candies - Black Sand
More Info
US$435.00*
and up
One Day Tour: Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour - Island Hopping Oahu to Hawaii
Ranked #3 of 175 Shopping in Island of Hawaii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A candy factory in Hilo.
Gahanna, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great shop especially if you like chocolate! As you enter, you will be able to sample random types of their products throughout the store. You can also watch workers make different items for sale in their shop. It is a bit expensive, but good candy, especially chocolate usually is when it is quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jadped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    141
    35
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly I am love any shortbreads but Big Island Candies are one of the best going around.

The shop is quite big and even has a large viewing into the factory so you can watch the workers make everything. The shop has so many taste testing treats of their products.

The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed visiting the shop. This is a must if you are ever near Hilo.

Helpful?
Thank Dipper303m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pricey but probably normal price for the island”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Thought it was great that there were random samples throughout the store. Interesting to watch the workers dip the delicious shortbread cookies in white or milk chocolate. I asked an employee if there were any items with peanut butter. He graciously showed me each of the items. He was so friendly and he even took the time to get me samples so it would help me to decide. Yes, a good selling point that worked for the company but I still give credit to the employee. I wish i remembered to ask him his name because he MADE that sale that day.

Helpful?
Thank Explore69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“If you like candies and cookies, this place is a must visit”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Enjoyed looking around and watching how things were made. The building is nice and welcoming and plenty of little titbits to taste. Unfortunately, I only bought presents for other people and didn't get anything for myself but I am assured the shortbreads were they best they'd tasted. A little bit on the expensive side but nicely presented and something different.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a big surprise”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had no idea what to expect. Very large distribution center and store. Can watch workers hand dip the shortbread cookies. What got me was the packaging. Fantastic, actually bought a box of cookies/candy just for the box, cute with lid and hula girls. Went in December so all was decorated. Go to their website, unbelievable boxes and wrappings. Cookies/candy very good. A little pricey, but you expect to pay for quality. Not your typical tin of cheap wanna be shortbread cookies. Oh yea, they offer free samples and kona coffee!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lv2travelSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Island Candies also viewed

Naalehu, Island of Hawaii
 
Keaau, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Candies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing