We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Macadamia Nuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Island Candies

Big Island Candies
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #2 of 166 Shopping in Island of Hawaii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A candy factory in Hilo.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Macadamia Nuts”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

If you like chocolate, macadamia nuts & shortbread cookies then this is the place. We use their website to order gifts for business and personal.
Mahalo!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    133
    34
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant Idea! ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Give everybody who walks in the door free samples of some of the best tasting shortbread and coffee they've ever tasted in their life and watch your sales shoot through the roof! I wanted to buy everything I touched including the coffee. But, I managed to restrain myself to two bags of cookies (to share). But, I'll be looking for their website to order more soon since my cookies didn't last one day once I got them home and opened the bags up for sharing.

Helpful?
Thank ChiGirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As you open the door the samples start. Watch out it's addictive, you can't stop tasting and buying. We were given two different types of shortbread and coffee at the entrance and then there are more samples as you make your way around the shop. It is a very professional operation and the kitchen is behind large glass windows so that you can see into it.

We bought chocolate dipped mocha balls and chocolate chip shortbread. Yummy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The free samples start the moment you walk through the door. Cookies, candy, coffee, yummy! Just inside there are large glass windows so you can watch the candies being made. There's an ice cream and smoothie bar that is very tasty as well. The prices reflect the quality of these gourmet goodies but they're well worth it. If you're in Hilo, don't miss this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danno820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gahanna, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great shop especially if you like chocolate! As you enter, you will be able to sample random types of their products throughout the store. You can also watch workers make different items for sale in their shop. It is a bit expensive, but good candy, especially chocolate usually is when it is quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jadped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Island Candies also viewed

Naalehu, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Keaau, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Candies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing