We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Lapakahi State Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is one of the few spots that you can really get insight into past Hawaiian culture. The best is the Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site, which is nearby and has part of the great temples. If you are visiting Pololu Valley Lookout than this Heiau is a great stop because it ties the 2 sites together. The Lapahaki State park is a do itself yourself venue. The restrooms are port a potties. In the summer, the flies are annoying if you stop walking. Remember this is the desert area so it is in the 90's in July/August- although there is almost always a wind blowing. There is a brochure that you can print off of the website that is invaluable in helping you to understand what you see. You don't want to take a chance that there won't be any in the visitor's bin. The site is unmanned. You tour the site at your own pace. BEWARE- the park closes PROMPTLY at 4:00- the ranger will be sitting in the car, tapping impatient fingers on the wheel. There is a gate at the top of the drive. Not quite sure why it needs to close before sunset. The park could use more display information. It does though give you a good understanding of the use of upper and lower lands, as well as the Royal Palace compound. Remember to bring your own water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KAJMJPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    45
    12
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“History, great views & whale watching.”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Very interesting view at the original settlers. Go out to the most western point to see humpback whales. If your lucky as we were you will see a great show. Whales coming out of the water and splashing back down. Like all the other reviews say bring water, very dry and watch your step.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is an interesting glimpse into Hawaiian culture. A brochure is available at the tiny visitor center, even if no one is there. The brochure describes 20 numbered sites in the ruins of this large village and explains some of the plants and fruits found here. It's a special place for anyone interested in history or people who just want to learn more about Hawaiian culture.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IngasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Another site to learn about Hawaiian history”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Another interesting historical site we visited at BI.
The visitor center has a free trail guide around the ruin of old Hawaiian fishing village. It's pretty much self-guided tour on unshaded and unpaved trail.
Do bring bottled waters and shades.
The sun can be very unrelenting despite the beautiful view of the Pacific ocean. On a clear day, you would be able to view the outline of Haleakala Mountain of Maui.
The park closes at 4 PM.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Lovely coastal historical Park - hot and sunny”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Being a history buff, I enjoyed visiting this state park on the north western shore of the Big Island -- that being said I had to shorten my visit because the rest of my group was less than excited about the self guided walking tour , the sun, heat and lack of shade. There are some ruins to see, a few semi reconstructed hales , and really pretty views of a wild coast line. There was no ranger or park employee around when we got there; the bathroom is a portapotty, but clean. I enjoyed reading the brochure but would have liked to talk to a park ranger or something while there just for more information. I guess they are suffering budget cuts and might not be able to have an employee on site all the time. We took some really pretty pictures of the surf and ocean here. There are supposed to be lots of octopus in the cove. My guide book said snorkeling is good here but it looked pretty rough and I hear the park personnel ( if they are around) discourage it. I think it is worth a stop if you are traveling up to the Kohala coast for the day, but probably not worth a special trip. We had seen the wonderful site of the PuUhono no O Honau nau where the royalty lived, and I thought it would be fun to see where common people lived just for comparison. I personally got a lot out of it. Younger kids or young teens might be bored. Paths were steep in some places and rocky so those with mobility issues would be challenged.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lapakahi State Historical Park also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lapakahi State Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing