We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About what you'd expect with above average service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

A week here was given to us as a wedding gift from my godparents, so i can't really speak to the value aspect, but KBC seems to be standard hotel fare for the area.

I don't mean that as a knock at all. We had a very enjoyable time! What really stood out was the excellent service from everyone from the front desk, to the valet, to the waiters - all excellent.

As you read the other reviews, you'll see that the place is under a major renovation. The main entrance is closed and the first 5 floors as of the first week of November are still under construction - so ask for a room on the 7th floor or higher. They accomodated us, no problem.

There is the $25 daily fee, but it covers internet, washer/dryer and valet parking. Just enjoy the convenience. I don't see why people complain about this. If $25/day is going to break the bank for you, maybe you should vacation somewhere else; honestly.

The hotel is on the beach, but both days we hung out there it was too windy to lay on a towel (there are no hotel chairs allowed on the beach itself) and the sand doesn't cover the hard painful lava rock once you get in the water in many areas. You might want to go elsewhere if you are big beach people.

We didn't mind, though, as the pool is amazing with waterfall pools and a slide, hundreds of comfy chairs and very attentive waiters supplying you a steady stream of delicious $10 cocktails.

They don't really have a restaurant per se either, but the hotel bar food is excellent. There is also a burger joint and a pizza place next to it that. Oddly, everything closes at 10pm, though... even the bar!

Fortunately, right across the street is a grocery store (open until 2am), subway (open until 9pm) and a jazz bar that was definitely hopping last night at 10:30pm.

This is our first time staying at a timeshare - we had expectations, but I have to say, we loved it! We were never pressured into a presentation or anything like that, and having a fridge and a giant electric griddle (no stove/oven) was so awesome. It was nice to stock up at Walmart (or Costco if you are a member - both right next to airport) with food for the week to be able to make meals in our room every once and awhile.

The renovated rooms look totally fine, the highlight is probably the two 42" or 47" LCD's in the bedroom and living room (we had a 1br suite). The outside facade is pretty dated imo (pink stucco walls with turquoise ceramic tiling), but honestly, does that really matter to you?

All in all, we had an amazing time here at KBC. It's not truly a 5-star caliber hotel, but that's ok sometimes! We would recommend it to anyone in the future, and might actually consider a timeshare in the future!

Room Tip: There is still construction on floors 1-5 so ask for 7+. Also ask for ocean view if possible, some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We return to KBC each year to be treated like millionaires for 2 weeks. Although newer, higher end resorts are nearby, we love the feel of the open air lobbies and the amenities provided at the resort. Our proximity to the beach and beach itself is unequalled. Upgrades to the facility are ongoing but don't interfere with guest relaxation. This year we returned to find rooms remodeled with new carpeting, new paint, window coverings, sleeper sofa, barbeque grills, and furniture. The layout is that of an Embassy Suites with an efficiency kitchen so there is plenty of space. Thankfully the dining options have improved in selection and quality. Prices are still Maui prices. We enjoyed delicious turkey and avocado wraps (large enough to share), fish tacos, and shrimp over pasta (the shrimp should have been grilled instead of just thawed). The happy hour drinks and specials enticed us each afternoon and the live entertainment was enjoyable. There are activities for every member of the family. A wide variety are available for keikis. To start the day, White Tiger Wellness with Chris and Paul offer personal training, toning, yoga, tai chi (while facing Molakai and Lanai), and my favorite- bootcamp water aerobics. They are true professionals and are flexible in scheduling. They also sell uv protection clothing and aqua gear too. They are both entertaining and enthusiatic. Finally, we can't say enough about the wonderful aloha spirit of the hotel staff. The personal attention and kindness truly make us feel appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 610travelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We are absolutely delighted to read your wonderful account of your recent stay! Thank you for sharing your impressions with your fellow travellers. We hope that we will have another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 7 day stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Club in Maui we obtained through a time share exchange. The resort, which is currently being remodeled, is first rate. The resort grounds, amenities and location are excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we avoided the welcome gift offered by the concierge, as well as the subsequent owners breakfast, and were never approached regarding a time share during our stay. The rooms are well appointed with two flat screens, an enormous bathroom, a full-sized refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. It was a little disappointing that the garden tub wasn't jetted, and there was no stove for cooking, but a nice sized hot tub next to the pool, and a great happy hour at the poolside bar more than made up for it.

Room Tip: All of the upper floors have been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dupers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted to read that we were able to meet, if not even exceed, your expectations and you had such a lovely and relaxing time with us. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Wow! We were pleasantly surprised by this resort on our first trip to Maui for our 5 year anniversary. If you're coming from the airport with a larger family and want to do a lot of your own cooking don't miss a quick stop at the Costco right outside of the airport. There isn't a stovetop or oven in the rooms, but there are six grills downstairs and I can tell you that they clean them inside and out every day. There is a hotplate in the room which we used for our breakfast scrambled eggs or afternoon grilled cheese sandwiches. The washer and dryer aren't located in the rooms but they do have them stationed by the elevators on each floor, are free, and we never had a problem doing our wash when we needed to. One thing we would have liked to see though would have been the ice machines located there two. They were a quite a walk from our room. We went in early September for just under two weeks and it was great for us as a couple because all of the families had left so it was pretty peaceful. We did snorkel right outside of the resort but for the most part it was choppy with cloudy visibility. Nothing too bad as we just jumped in our car and road up to Napili Bay which had some protection and got to see plenty of fish. Even so, there are plenty of turtles to be seen swimming along the coral line towards late afternoon. Make sure you look outside in the mornings too because there's bond to be a rainbow or tow over the ocean. There is a $25.00 resort fee and I have seen some other people who complained that either it wasn't disclosed or they thought it steep. I have to say I would be hard pressed to stay at any nice resort without some sort of fee and this one covers parking (valet included...I will get to that in a moment), internet and the health club. I'm with a vacation club and they were up front right away about the fee so I have no complaints. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms. Very clean with a nice view of the ocean. We did use the valet on the first day because we had stopped to go grocery shopping and didn't want to walk far with the bags. As soon as we started grabbing things the valet gentlemen stopped us and started loading up a cart for us. They told us to go ahead and check-in and they would bring everything up to our room. Couldn't have asked for better service throughout our entire stay. On our second day we started to hear some of the renovation construction from two floors down. We called the front desk and within 20 minutes there were staff there who actually packed up our refrigerator for us and then moved us to a quieter room one floor higher and actually ended up having a better view of the ocean (we could actually hear it at night with the doors open). So, minus the small inconvenience, it was nice to have the better room view. All of the staff, every day, had a smile on their face and were such a pleasure to see every day. Nice bar and great bartender (Theresa I think) downstairs. I would definitely recommend and come back here. Nice job with the excellent staff and wonderful ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My first time staying at this time share location. The property was lovely and the room was very nice. There is a wonderful pool and nice beach area. The day before arriving I learned about the $25 resort fee. When I asked what this was for I was told, parking, use of washer dryer, etc. I thought this was steep considering I was given the option to self park and there was one washer and two dryers per floor. Construction was going on the main entrance to the resort and it could get quite noisy as well. The staff was nice and friendly especially the valet staff. Nice bar, good drinks.
I would def. stay here again but I would have to think about it with that $25 per day "resort fee".

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klovemaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a great time at the KBC. From the moment we arrived, the staff members were friendly, helpful, and professional. We requested a room with an ocean view on a high floor and were granted our request. Beach was fun and we were able to find plenty of non rocky places to swim and play in the waves. The day we checked in, we went down to get our free gift from concierge. She mentioned the time share presentation. We told her we were probably not interested and we were never asked that again. There were no overly aggressive sales agents as have been reported by others in the past. Pool was awesome and hot tub was never too busy. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. We didn't eat much at the resort, but what we did get was pretty good. My wife really enjoied the smoothies. Great View, Great Service, Great Time, we will visit again in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 10th floor with ocean view. If you are interested, ask ahead of time and you may get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My family and I have been to this resort 12 times in the past 14 years and we absolutely LOVE this resort! Since we bought a timeshare here in 1999, we've been fortunate enough to keep returning year after year. The staff are always so pleasant to work with; we never have to worry about anything and can enjoy our vacation. Whether it's a small request like coming to clean the room a day earlier, getting extra pillows or towels, they're always on top of it. Even when we've been there at peak times in March and July, they've been kind enough to go out of their way switch us to our preferred 2 bedroom suite, which is so appreciated.

Especially for first-time visitors, be sure to attend the welcome breakfast and sign up for activities with the concierge- some of our favorite activities we've grown to love on the island were presented to us from the helpful concierge staff years ago. (For example, the Lanai Landing Adventure with Maui Adventure Cruises, day trip to the island of Molokai, Pride of Maui Molokini excursion, etc.)

The views are incredible and the location cannot be beat. It's located right on Ka'anapali beach- for the oceanfront one bedrooms there is nothing in the way from the property and the ocean. The property overall is well-kept and the pool area is large and they have 2 hot tubs. I don't understand the criticism around the pink exterior- it makes the hotel easy to identify when you're driving, and the hotel is updated! Every time I return something seems to be upgraded. The rooms are very modern and have all new furniture and even the couch beds are very comfortable. Free parking is available in the garage in the basement.

I've been lucky enough to experience several stunning sunsets right on property on Ka'anapali beach. From the balcony you can often times see rainbows too (see pictures below)!

I could go on and on about how magnificent this resort is- it's my home away from home and it's always fun to look forward to coming again. I absolutely recommend this resort to other travelers looking to stay in Ka'anapali- it really is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are delighted that you enjoy staying at the Ka’anapali Beach Club, and that our team have helped make your visits here extra special! We hope you’ll go on to have many more wonderful vacations here in the future, and we can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maui hotels
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761-9419
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#18 Spa Hotel in Maui
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range: £221 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing