We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things have changed...for the better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Things have changed...for the better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stay at this hotel very other year. The last time we stayed here the rooms were looking worn and clearly needed repair and updating.
No longer.
Staff had great attitude . New furniture and flat screen TVA.
Better pool chairs and cleaning of facilities.
Clearly moving in the right direction
Bravo

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    527
    215
    65
    44
See reviews for
463
594
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

3 couples sharing a unit, (pull out couch like a king bed, very comfy!) plenty of room, kitchen but no stove, (who cooks on vacation anyway) ok for cold foods and snacks and a huge balcony terrace with beach and mountain views. Very clean accommodations and the beach & pool were perfect. Happy hour was great and we enjoyed the staff. The prime rib was cooked to perfection! We had a car and it was close to everything. Had a great time there!

Room Tip: we were on the 8th floor huge terrace overlooking pool beach and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesperado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad that your apartment was spacious and comfortable during your stay.
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the beach and pool areas at the resort and we hope you took full advantage of the areas.
We are happy to read you enjoyed the happy hour and the staff were helpful and courteous your stay.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our first room had many juvenile roaches. We asked for a transfer. The second room had larger roaches. We switched a third time to a disability room which had brown smears on the toilet tank, cookie crumbs on the desk, and sand in the bed. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
First and foremost, we do apologize if there were roaches in your unit while you visited. We assure you that our property maintains an aggressive pest-control program with Eco Lab, our contracted pest control vendor in order to protect against pest problems. Our pest control service was immediately notified to take care of the claim in the unit you stayed in and its surrounding rooms and buildings. In addition to regularly-scheduled prevention, we respond immediately to any claims made regarding any type of pest intrusion. We hope our genuineness was evident to you when you spoke to our General Manager following your stay. We take every complaint seriously and appreciate your willingness to accept our apology and gesture of good will offer to make amends for the experience you had. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort to make a better impression on you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We enjoyed an ocean view one bedroom on the 5th floor for one week. We were set back a bit from the ocean, over the putt putt course, but still enjoyed our stay immensely. Waking up to the breezes and clouds reflecting the sunrise every morning was so refreshing! Our room was one of the renovated ones, so all the furnishings were new. Everything was very clean. On site restaurant was okay, the burgers were our least favorite meal there. Pool area is awesome, beach right out front and to the left is great for snorkeling! Front desk staff were all very accommodating. Thanks for a great home base in Maui!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachski19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are delighted that you had a great time at the Ka'anapali Beach Club – thank you for your review! We really hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
996 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Club for 9 days as part of a 14 day stay on Maui. We had booked a one bedroom deluxe ocean-view room and had a very nice view of both the beach and pool area. We even saw a whale from our balcony. Our room was large and comfortable with a very nice bathroom, a very comfortable bedroom and a nice living room. Both the living room and the bedroom have access to the large balcony (& a great view).
The kitchen was nice with a full-sized refrigerator, a nice microwave, a great coffee maker and lots of dishes, etc. However, there was no stove (there was a large electric skillet). We didn't really need an oven but would have loved to have a cooktop. There are so many great restaurants in the area (even decent ones on site) that this was less of a problem than it might have been.
The pool was a real plus. It was very large with lots of room for those who wish to swim and those who wish to play volleyball (using the net set up in the middle). One end is six feet deep (at least). the middle is 4.5 feet and the other end is 3.5 feet. There is also a separate smaller children's pool with a nice water slide, a hot tub and another small pool with two waterfalls. On our tour we found out that planned renovations for 2014 will include a new and larger hot tub in addition to the existing one (a good addition, as the hot tub was very well used).
The Ka'anapali Beach Club is currently being renovated with all rooms being completely redone and the front entrance reworked (t was almost complete and looked beautiful).
We found the staff very friendly and accommodating. We attended the orientation presentation on the first morning and were rewarded with a free breakfast (the breakfast was surprisingly good, especially the omelettes). We found out a lot of information about things happening around Lahaina and in Maui. We were also able to book a number of things that we wanted to do at competitive prices (helicopter tour, road to Hana, etc.). There was also a timeshare promotion meeting which could be taken (discounts on tours) or declined (no hassles). We did attend and felt no pressure to purchase additional points (we are already owners).
The beach is quite nice. While it is all sand, there are rocks off shore for part of the area. I had swimming shoes, so this was not a problem. For those without special shoes, there is an area with no (or few) rocks. The sea was warm and the waves were fun. On days with good surf, there were surfers just off shore.
The Times supermarket is just across the road - a short walk (or drive if you wish to get a lot of stuff). We found that the Safeway in Lahaina had a better selection (& there was a Costco near the airport). A rental car, while not strictly necessary, will prove very useful.
There is entertainment every evening from 6-9 pm and a happy hour with half-priced drinks (& some food specials) from 3-6 pm every afternoon.
We plan to return next December.

Room Tip: Ocean view on higher floors is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are delighted that you had a great time here, and we feel sure that the information in your review will be really useful to other prospective guests. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here next year, and we look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I am a Diamond Resort owner and my husband owns with a different company. We were here on his exchange points. We had a one bedroom on the 11th floor with an ocean view. As usual there are mixed reviews so I wasn't sure what to expect but when we walked in I was really happy with what I saw. The bathroom was huge and had two sinks. The decor was very nice and the view off the balcony was great. It was clean. I did notice a musty odor that others have spoken about. I bought one of those wax air freshener things and that helped. Since I have to be honest here I will mention that over the course of the week I saw tiny tiny little bugs even smaller then ants in the kitchen and on the dining room table at random. I didn't say anything about as I'm not sure what it was or what could be done about it. I'm really freaked out when it comes to bugs and things like that but they were so so tiny that it didn't scare me or anything. We didn't use the dining room table or the kitchen much except to use some dishes from it so I just let it be. The sheets were a little scratchy for me but it wasn't anything to complain about. The tiles on the floor were not an issue for us. Yes, it's loud if someone rolls by but it was hardly even noticeable.

There is a blue ray player in the room. Our remote was broken so we had to call someone to get another one because you can't operate it without that. We did have to call them twice but they came and took care of it. Most of our evenings were spent watching movies. They did offer us a timeshare presentation when we went to pick up our gift but I said NO WAY and that was it. We did agree to the orientation in exchange for a breakfast buffet voucher and that was worth it. The buffet was excellent and would have cost us $16. The valet parking was free. The wi-fi was free and we had no issues with it. On the last day we were still able to enjoy the beach after check out because they have a shower and changing facility available. We stored our luggage in the car but they would have held it at the desk if needed.

The location is great. It's right on the beach. There is a grocery store in a strip mall that has a Subway and a few other fast food type food spots right across the street. There is a restaurant called Slappy Cakes within walking distance for breakfast or lunch. We loved it so much we went there twice for breakfast. We did Subway twice and a few dinners were just wraps and things like that from the grocery store. Snorkel Bob's is also across the street for chairs or any other gear you might need for the beach. If you want more food and restaurant options then you'd probably need a car. There is no on site spa but they referred us to a place about a mile away and that was perfect.

The restaurant is pretty expensive if you ask me. The happy hour from 3-6 daily was our time to buy drinks. They have some food specials at that time too. Mostly bar food type specials. Turns out the pizza is really good. We ordered some at happy hour and it probably wasn't fresh because it was hard. Make sure it's fresh. When we gave it another chance and ordered an entire pizza later on it was really really good. At night they have live singers and they are really, really good.

The pool area is beautiful. They have water, towel service and clean bathrooms. You can bring your own food and drinks or buy it at the restaurant. There were always plenty of chairs. You cannot take the lawn chairs to the beach but there is an area between the hotel and the beach where people set up chairs so you can still get the beach view. We rented a 2 person beach cabana for two days for $40 per day. It's padded and there is a perfect little canopy for shade. It was great. There are a lot of rocks in the beach but we did notice that you can see if there are rocks right through the water and there are sections that don't have any. Once we realized that we stuck to those parts. We did visit Kapalua Bay one day just for a change of scenery. It was only about a 10-15 minute drive. There is plenty of shade over there and a shower but no beach rentals.

I fully enjoyed our stay here. It's a beautiful property.

Room Tip: request an upper floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Ka’anapali Beach Club. We are delighted that your stay here was a generally very enjoyable one, but we’re sorry to note your concerns about insects in the apartment you occupied. While the majority of vacation resorts located in warmer climates do suffer from the occasional appearance of insects from time to time, we operate rigorous cleaning as a matter of course and we’d like to reassure you that this is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff.

We’re really pleased that this issue didn’t mar an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable vacation, and we really hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was so lucky to stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Club the 2 days I had off from work. The room was great, the pool was inviting and Teresa at the Ohana Bar and Grill was fun and gave great customer service. Too bad I have to return to work tomorrow so I won't be here for the traditional Hawaiian blessing of the completion of the extensive renovation. Good luck to everyone associated with the hotel and I do look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maui hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Property: Ka'anapali Beach Club
Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#21 Spa Hotel in Maui
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing