We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I read these reviews all the time and wonder whether people just have bad luck or have too high of expectations that can't be reached so I was a little nervous about coming. However our stay was amazing and we would definitely go back! First off, they heat their pool, which is huge because many resorts and condo buildings in the area do not which makes it tough for our kids, ages 6 and 8, to enjoy themselves in a really cold pool. There were many amenities and activities for the kids, plus a bar and restaurant on site and a grocery about a 5 minutes walk away. Overall the staff was attentive and helpful and we really enjoyed all aspects of the beach club. The only drawback is this new phenomenon that hotels like to use called the "resort fee" that adds $25/day for things that should be included - I can bring my own towels down to the pool instead of someone handing them to me for $25 - however it has become a popular thing to do for a lot of hotels, not just this one. Anyway the overall experience was very positive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wicksie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    529
    217
    65
    44
See reviews for
464
602
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family, friends etc ... Checked in on Christmas day for 2 weeks. Our first week we were right next door to a family traveling with us so that our kids could easily see each other on a regular basis. We were on the 4th floor Ocean front. The 4th floor rooms and below had not been rennovated yet and were not as nice as the 10th floor (we moved there for our 2nd week after the family traveling with us went home.) yet the room was still very clean and very homey. During our first week(Christmas week is the busiest week on Maui) there were not enough chairs by the pool. My wife complained and the GM (Jim) of the hotel came down to talk with her. He not only had more chairs brought out but he jumped right in and started helping the staff strap the cushions on the chairs and helped with the set up of the chairs. After the chairs were set up I chatted with Jim about upcoming rennovations to the hotel and he was very informative. We also happened upon the fact that we both love to play softball. We chatted a little longer before he had to continue his daily duties. Jim like the previous manager Gary was very helpful and solved the chair problem quite quickly. I also want to give a shout out to the front desk. These ladies have always been helpful in finding us good rooms for our vacations. We have stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Club since it was Embassy Suites decades ago. The valets have always been especially nice as well. (Make sure you guys beat the Westin team this year in softball!!!)
We also had the Seafood Buffett on Wednesday night at the hotel. It was quite good!! I realize that I am rambling a bit so I just want to say thanks to the staff/management for always making our vacations AWESOME!!! See you all in November!!! :-)- Troy Brady

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

First off, the positive. The property is nicely maintained and at "4 Star" level. Staff are friendly. Bedding and beds luxurious. The suite is clean and modern. Rooms are quiet. The pool is large and there are always activities in the pool for adults and kids.
Now the negatives: If you are not an owner (this is a time-share property) and pre-pay your stay, as we did to save a bit, know that you will be given a 2nd or 3rd floor suite (out of 14) overlooking the parking, front entrance or mini-golf area with NO PRIVACY, a rather depressing view and plenty of noise. Forget about putting in a request to be moved to a more desirable location and floor if there's availability. It will not do a thing. They've got you and if you are not an owner it won't matter.
Additionally, the beach that this hotel sits on has plenty of rocks among the sand so that wading into the water is uncomfortable and dangerous. Our kids did not enjoy it and didn't want to go back in after their initial day there so we ended up driving elsewhere. Not what we had imagined.
Finally, this hotel is located in the heart of the busy Ka'anapali strip. If you love lots and lots of tourists everywhere you go, inflated prices for everything and crowded sidewalks and boardwalks then you may be right at home here. We would not go back to this area ever again. It is much too crowded with traffic and people and made jogging along the street and boardwalk (which we did each morning) an unpleasant and, at time, hazardous activity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank richjacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Club hotel from 12/23/13 – 01/03/14. We booked our hotel room in October, 2013. When I initially booked my room through Expedia, I was concerned about getting a “renovated” room. Many Trip Advisor guests had warned about the quality and cleanliness of the older rooms at this hotel. When I called the hotel, they assured me that my request for a renovated room would be noted on my file and they would accommodate my request. About two weeks prior to our arrival, I tried to lock in a commitment for a renovated room with their reservations/Front Desk area. I was then told that room assignments are not made until the day of check in. This made me suspicious since the hotel primarily caters to time share owners as part of Diamond International and we were staying at the hotel during the peak holiday season. I called the manager of the Front Desk and left her several messages on her personal cell phone, she never returned my calls. When we arrived, our plane was delayed so we did not arrive at the hotel until 1:00am. We were given an old handicap accessible room with a broken thermostat that kept the temperature at 65 degrees all the time. In addition, I found that the Kaanapali Beach Resort does not clean their rooms daily. When I called the Front Desk, I was told that they are supposed to clean the room every 4th day. The cleanliness of the room was suspect and the staff was very inconsistent in the quality of cleanliness they provided. When we complained about our room, we learned that paying guests who are not part of the Diamond International time share program have no priority in this hotel. The priority for room assignments are given to time share owners at this resort and time share owners who have traded to stay at the resort. Whether you are a time share guest and especially if you are not a time share guest, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, since the rooms are not clean and if you are not part of Diamonds International time share program, you have no priority and will receive 2nd class treatment at every step along the way.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room on floor 5+
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
As delivering excellent customer service is our ultimate goal, it is a great disappointment to read that you were not pleased with our service and accommodations. We would like to offer our apologies for any dissatisfaction you may felt and assure you that we are committed to providing you with our highest level of service simply because our owners, members, and guests equally deserve our very best.
We are truly sorry to hear that your recent experience here at Ka’anapali Beach Club was less than perfect for you. We would like to assure you that we would like nothing more than to be able to accommodate all our owners, members and guests in fully refurbished units, yet for practical reasons, due to the occupancy rates of deeded owners owning certain unit types until the refurbishment works are completed, regretfully this is not always possible. Room location requests are just that, they are not a guarantee. Please note that our front desk team members will always do everything within their power to reassign your guestroom, without having to move another guest. Regarding the thermostat in your room, we are very sorry you had an issue with it and hope that you notified our front desk team so that they could take appropriate action. Lastly, we regret to read that you were unaware of our cleaning schedule. Generally, vacation ownership properties do not offer daily housekeeping services. Our property offers cleaning for stays of four days or more. We will of course ensure that the team advises our guests at the point of check-in should they not be aware of our environment friendly midweek cleaning policy. We sincerely hope that in spite of this, you enjoyed everything else about the resort and will consider us for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family booked three one bedroom oceanview suites at Ka'anapali Beach Club in October 2013. Our views would be classified as minimual partial view at best. Hotel manger refused to speak with us (and others with complains at the desk) on numerous ocations. Front desk clerks kept taking our questions to the managers office and coming back with information. We were promised this would be handled but during our four days we kept getting the same anser. Additionally, all three rooms had small ants in the kitchen area. Mold was in one unit as well as roaches (I have photos of roaches, mold and our terrible balcony nonview). This was our first trip to Hawaii and the joy was just sucked out of the trip by the poor reception and lack of customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us. We appreciate your feedback on our team members and resort quality and are very sorry to hear the resort did not meet your expectations. Here at Ka’anapali Beach Club, we pride ourselves on delivering a Vacation of a Lifetime™ and take such feedback with great urgency. The maintenance and housekeeping teams have been informed on the quality of units and are addressing the matter seriously.

The customer service you received from our staff is not a representation of our standard of service. To improve the stay of all of our guests, our team members are encouraged and empowered to resolve issues at hand. It is always our goal to provide exceptional hospitality and we continue to provide coaching to implement such standards.

Again, please take our apologies and know that we are taking immediate action. We hope you will be confident in our corrections and will continue to vacation at Ka’anapali Beach Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was happy to see that rooms have been upgraded with current amenities and appliances. The kitchenette does not have an oven or stove, but there is a full fridge/freezer, large microwave, and all other essential kitchen items. The BBQ area is well maintained, and you can borrow BBQ tools from the front desk.

The pool area is also well maintained with cushioned lounge chairs, and towel service from the pool and front desk (although be warned sometimes they run out of fresh towels).

The restaurant food is average and offers good Happy Hour drink and pupu specials. The breakfast buffet is not great quality, and I don't recommend you pay for this option unless you want cooked to order eggs every day. You can easily make your own breakfast in your suite.

The service throughout our stay was very good with one exception at the bar/restaurant.

The location is great; right on the beach and located on Maui's West Coast with easy access to the many activities on offer across the island. The Concierge can assist with booking activities although do your research in advance as we booked a few activities that while they were good, were not the best available. For example, stay away from the Royal Lahaina Luau which the Concierge will offer. There are better luau options available if you are interested in this type of activity.

I think this is a great property for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huneebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel we had to park in the lower level of the garage. They had no elevators to get to the lobby level from there and no one had offered to help, maybe because it was around 11pm and you even had to call to the attendant behind the desk who was sitting in the office. After carrying our seven bags of luggage up the stairs we went to our first room and found cockroaches and their droppings in the room. We were then moved to a second room where we didn't find any evidence of roaches. It rained two nights that we had stayed there, and being the lowest balcony all of the rain poured onto ours and it was very hard to sleep listening to the 'waterfall' right next to our heads. Upon checking out a fee was charged also. When asked what the fee was for the attendant responded that it was for parking and for the washer and dryer that was available (that we never even used). I personally, would have thought that such things like parking your car at the hotel would be included in your stay. I suppose I just usually stay in hotels that actually care about their guests. I will never stay at this hotel again and I urge anyone going to Maui anytime in the future to stay, well, anywhere else in order to have a decent, pest-free visit in Hawaii.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are extremely sorry that your stay here at Ka’anapali Beach Club did not meet your expectations. It was very concerning to us to read about the issue your accommodations had in regard to cockroaches. We want to assure you that we have a very aggressive pest control system in place that eliminates most issues with pests within our rooms. That being said, certain variables beyond our control may have caused us to miss the cockroaches that entered your room. This issue will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. We will also continue to monitor this situation so that our guests can be assured that this will not be an issue going forward. It was very concerning to read that our resort fee had a negative impact towards your stay. The resort fee we charge is posted on our website, we also notify our exchange and rental partners to advise their customers. We are making every effort to ensure that our guests are impacted as little as possible by this. We consider the expense to be a minimal cost covering internet access, fitness center access, parking and local calls. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope you will return for another visit again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maui hotels
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Property: Ka'anapali Beach Club
Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761-9419
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#21 Spa Hotel in Maui
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing