We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaanapali Beach Club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This resort is in an ideal location, close to Lahaina and Kapalua. It is an easy walk to Whalers Village with shops and restaurants to tempt you.
We arrived early (1:15 pm) and pre-checked into the hotel. We were told our room was not ready (as we expected) so i asked what room we were being assigned. The front desk clerk, Al, said our room had not yet been assigned. So, how did he know it was not ready ?? The answer is that, coincidentally, everyone sitting around waiting for a room was notified about 3:45 that their room was ready and rooms were assigned at that time. Check-in time is listed as 4 pm (our confirmation letter said "after 3pm). During a wait, the bell staff did store our luggage, and in a refrigerated area, our cold food and beverages. All the cold things were still cold.
Anyway, as other reviewers have stated, the resort is a bit dated, but not rundown. This was originally an Embassy Suites hotel (year built unknown). The rooms are, I believe, all one-bedroom units with a lanai. Our unit was large, well furnished and very comfortable. The kitchen has a large refrigerator, microwave but no stove. The bathroom is large and has a walk-in shower (shower pressure perfect), tub and 2 separate sink areas. The bedroom is large also with a very comfortable king-size bed and large closet.
The pool is quite large, lagoon shaped and there are more than ample lounge chairs, many with umbrellas to shield the sun.
The resort is adjacent to a beach, a portion of which has a very nice area for lying on the beach.
Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful and helped make our stay enjoyable.
We did not eat at the resort restaurant as there are many other options very nearby.
Other than the check-in, our stay was restful and pleasant. Oh, check-out was quick and accurate. We would probably stay here again if we go to Maui.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible. There are 12 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PBRguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Went here with my teenage boys. We are Diamond Resort owners and this property lived up to our expectations. If you can look past the hot flamingo pink exterior, this hotel with its open atrium has a breezy and relaxing feel. The views from the upper floors are spectacular and it is no wonder this property is often sold out. Units are spacious and have some of the largest bathrooms I have ever seen for a resort condo/ timeshare property. But the best part of our experience was the smiling, friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel at home. Every employee we encountered, from front desk staff, to the concierge, to the pool towel guy genuinely appeared to be enjoying themselves and were very accommodating. So after this glowing review, why 4 stars instead of 5? Well, there were a few negatives that can't be ignored:

Upon check in we were promised a certain room type on a particular floor. While we were being given our initial orientation at the VIP desk, apparently the front desk had given away the very room they had reserved for us to another guest. We were then given a lower floor and 1 king bed instead of 2 doubles. It worked out fine b/c the fold-out sofa has memory foam and is actually quite comfortable, but it didn't leave a great first impression. Also, kitchens are only partial kitchens and don't have ovens or stoves (something about the zoning codes).

This paled in comparison, however, to the high pressure sales pitch during the member's update. Don't get me wrong, with all the freebies and discounts they are throwing at you (and there are some sweet deals including 40% off tours and $100.00 in restaurant vouchers) I expect to be pitched at for a few hours, but after politely declining to purchase a slew of additional points for $17,000 for the 15th time I was made to feel like I had robbed the place and had ruined the lady's morning. This is sales, people, you win some- you lose some.

Anyway, all in all a very pleasant experience with great staff. The beach is gorgeous. Parking was free and easy and there are great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on a higher floor. Forgo the beach view on a lower floor for the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at the Ka’anapali Beach Club. We are delighted that your stay here was a generally very enjoyable one, but we are sorry to read that you had cause for complaint about some aspects of your vacation. We are concerned that the apartment you were offered by the front desk was allocated to someone else while you were speaking to the concierge team – unfortunately we are at a loss to understand how this happened, and we regret the disappointment caused to you as a result. We are also sorry to learn that your experience here was somewhat marred by your interactions with our on-site sales team. We don’t feel that high-pressure sales tactics are necessary or appropriate, and we apologize that your experiences here don’t reflect this.

We are pleased to learn that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable vacation, though, and that you are planning to return here – we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just arrived home from a great one week family end of May vacation at Kaanapali Beach Club. As Diamond Resort owners I was able to obtain two - two bedroom units to accommodate eight family members. Our newely remodeled units were on the 4th floor across the hall from one another (one ocean view & the other mountain view) at the north end of the building. The view from each of the long L shaped lani was just spectacular - sunrise to the east & sunset to the west. That portion of the building overlooking the mineature golf course was pretty quiet & we were quite happy with that. Everyone had a delightful time & looks forward to a return during whale season. A great time was had by all - ranging in age from 8 years to 75 years. What a treat!!!

Room Tip: Lovely gift shop which included some small shelf food items, beverages, ice cream treats, beer &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KATHLEEN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are delighted that your family had a great vacation at the Ka’anapali Beach Club, and that the resort had something to suit all of your party! We hope you will consider us for future visits to Maui, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I are Diamond Resort owners and managed to get a week here with our points in a "one bedroom ocean view" unit. It was our first time in Maui and we were there to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. When we checked in, I'd requested a room on an upper floor. There are 12 floors. We were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the parking canopy which stared directly at the entrance to the parking garage. It you looked to the far right, beyond the wall of the middle (Ohaina) tower you could see the ocean. Bonnie who had checked us in had gone and checked with the manager to see if she could get us something higher up but came back and said the resort was full and there were no other rooms to be had. (Although I'm not convinced that was true because we saw many, many of the deluxe ocean view rooms that were in complete darkness with no signs of occupancy the entire time we were there so I'm not sure it they only open certain sections at a time because there was no way the entire place was full! ).

After we arrived in our room it became apparent that we were not going to be happy looking at the cars constantly coming and going below so I called down to the front desk to request another room, even if it was still on the 4th floor - just something away from the front entrance and parking garage entrance.

Thankfully Bonnie was able to get us a room on the 8th floor closer to the Ohaina tower which afforded us a much better view. She did caution us that it was an accessible room so might be different than a regular one bedroom. All in all we really liked the room; the only thing that was awkward was there was no bathroom counter. Instead there was a pedestal sink and then two small wooden slat tables about a foot off the ground that looked like something you might see around a pool which had our towels and amenities on them. It was really mickey mouse and I felt sorry for the handicap people who the room was designed for that they would get stuck with these stupid little wooden tables in lieu of a bathroom counter of some sort. The pedestal sink wouldn't even hold a bar of soap and these tables didn't hold our toiletries because of the slats and their small size size.

In any event, the bathroom which was off the bedroom was very large with a separate glass shower and tub. There were plenty of nice white towels and toiletries. The bedroom was nice and large as well with plenty of drawers and cupboard space, as well as a safe. The king size bed was excellent as were the pillows and bedding. The place was nice and clean. There were sliding patio doors off both the living room and the bedroom that lead to a long but really narrow balcony, although there were no screen doors so you couldn't really leave the doors open at night.

My husband likes to cook and we did manage to make our breakfasts in the electric skillet provided in place of a stove. The kitchen was nicely stocked with dishes, cutlery, glassware etc and thankfully had a blender for morning smoothies! Although I must admit the Shells time share we were able to exchange our points for in Hawaii the week before (Kona Coast Resort) was even better equipped - ie full stove & oven, 12 glasses (incl 4 nice tall plastic glasses that we were able to bring to the beach and pool - awesome!) instead of just the 4 glasses we got here which just didn't seem like enough. I guess we were a bit spoiled from the previous place we'd stayed at the week before!

The units have a full size fridge with freezer and a dishwasher and soap is provided. There was not a washer/dryer in the unit but we were lucky enough to be right across the hall from the communal one available on our floor! We appreciated the free wireless internet which seems to be so important these days.

The pool and area was large, well maintained and pretty with the various cascading waterfalls surrounding the pool. I liked to watch the large colourful koi fish on my way to and from the pool. There are plenty of chairs although disappointingly, there were some people who each day seemed to get out there before 7am to save their favourite spots, which often sat vacant for part of the day. Although there are signs saying no saving seats and that items will be removed and kept at the pool hut, they never were.

There are beach cabanas available for rent for $40/day (which I didn't bother with). The beach is very narrow and so you cannot lay on it but at least it is there if you want to go for a walk or an ocean swim. Plus it's so pretty just having it there in the background.

There are two sets of elevators, with one set being "scenic" with it's glass walls which was nice. We were often out travelling during the day and dining out in the evening and did not dine at the on site restaurant although we noticed plenty of people there did so.

The resort is very pleasant to stay at. The only thing that bugged me was the way the balconies were set up - sitting out there, it felt like you were in a fish bowl and it was really narrow. Again, we were probably just spoiled with the large private balcony we'd had at the time share we'd stayed at in Hawaii the week before (but with no ocean view).

Like any resort, a rating takes into consideration many things. The pros for this resort are it's location (on the ocean, less than 10 min drive to Lahaina), it's large pool and pretty grounds surrounding the pool, it's clean, nicely renovated and comfortable rooms, it's resort "feel", not to mention it had a great underground parking garage which kept the car cool! The people were nice too. Thanks for your efforts Bonnie in getting us a room with a better view!

If you are lucky enough like we were to be able to get this resort with your Diamond points or on an exchange, then take it! You will love it! If you have found this review to be helpful, please let me know by clicking below. Aloha!

Room Tip: The Ohaina tower is closest to the ocean with the better views the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank BahiaDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback about your stay at the Ka’anapali Beach Club! We’re sorry that it wasn’t initially possible to fulfil your accommodation request, but we are delighted that our team were eventually able to resolve this to your satisfaction. We feel sure that future guests will really appreciate all the information and advice you’ve provided, and we hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have a timeshare here and come once a year. The rooms have been updated and are very nice and clean. The ocean front rooms have some of the best views on the island. I can throw a rock into the water from where we're at. The pool area is nice and the staff is always top notch. The valet staff has always been great here. We get there early before our room is ready and they're always great at storing our luggage and groceries. We have been coming here since 2004 and have loved every visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Ka’anapali Beach Club. Our resort is very appreciative of you continuing to choose to stay with us, and we are thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations! Its reviews like yours that keep us striving to meet each and every one of our guest’s needs and provide service like no other. We look forward to welcoming you back again as our valued guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This resort is everything you'd want your accommodations to be: comfortable, clean, nice looking, with necessary amenities, with friendly staff.
I was there with a Diamond resort sampler package.

The only down side it was the towel issue. You'd think in a beach resort they will be more prompt with towels for the whole party accommodated in the room. We had to find the cleaning crew and ask for them. They were nice and generous after that.

Room Tip: I am big on breakfast, so when I travel I look for places that serves local recipe food. Couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinaPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at the Ka’anapali Beach Club, and that the resort had everything you needed for a great vacation. We are sorry to note that there were insufficient towels in your accommodation, though – the number of towels provided should reflect the number of guests noted on the booking, and we would like to apologize for what appears to have been an oversight in this regard. We hope that this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable experience here, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really like this hotel, it has an open lobby/main floor which is very inviting. registration was easy and they have an underground parking area covered with a park-like settings and waterfall on the poolside of the garage. they upgraded us to an ocean view. our room was a 1 bedroom with a living room dining area and mini kitchen. the bathroom is almost as big as some rooms I have stayed in. they have grills outside, mini golf and a very large swimming pool with a station offering scuba lessons-etc, fitness center, and restaurant. we ate breakfast and a evening meal there and were very pleased. personnel are very friendly, they offer valet parking, activities through the week, and some exotic birds. it is an oceanfront hotel in an area very convenient to
Lahaina and less likely to have too much rain. we hope to return in the future

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Ka'anapali Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for staying at Ka’anapali Beach Club. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and outdoor amenities. Our resort offers on-site activities and dining, however, its prime location gives guests easy access to local sight-seeing. Our team members are eager to help our guests with any of their needs, including planning entertainment for the whole family. We thank you again and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maui hotels
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
3,283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761-9419
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#19 Spa Hotel in Maui
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range: £183 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing