We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach”
Review of Hamoa Beach

Hamoa Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$651.82*
and up
Road to Hana: Luxury First Class Private Tour
Ranked #110 of 367 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed overnight in the Hana area and arrived in Hamoa beach early in the morning. We had the beach to ourselves for a good hour. It was peaceful and beautiful. The surf wasn't too bad for our young children and there was plenty of shade. The kids loved watching the sand crabs peek in and out. Would love to visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    15
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little slice of beach heaven”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Go EARLY to get parking. Road work has resulted in much of the shoulder areas being closed to parking. This is one of the best beaches we have ever visited. I'd rank it second only to Hanalei Bay in Kauai -- but thats only because the house we stayed at at Hanalei was only a 100 yards to the beach. This one is a bit harder to get to -- but worth the effort. The water is pristine. The waves are perfect and the swimming is fantastic.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gokathymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This beach is one of the best beaches in Maui. It has beautiful blue water and white sand. While staying in Hana we went to Hamoa beach twice and both times it was not crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TAMARA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We visited late in the afternoon. Beautiful beach not to crowding and good swimming. There's a short hill to walk down but its not too bad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Best White Sand Beach On Maui! FREE!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

After visiting the 7 pools at Ohe'o Gulch, and building up a sweat, refresh here with a cool (80') dip in the ocean. James Mitchner described this beach as the most beautiful in the Pacific and I concur. It is a beautiful treasure of Maui. There are no rocks, it is mostly safe, and the waves are perfect for body surfing. Take some sandals as the sand can get hot before you get to the moist part. There is free parking at the top of the hill and it is a short, steep walk to the beach. If you are a guest of the Travaasa Hana Maui Hotel, they have a free scuttle to and from this beach that unlocks the chain at the top and drives you down the steep hill. (they better at over $400. a night!) The hotel is an excellent if pricy place to eat!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamoa Beach also viewed

 

Been to Hamoa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing