We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling is outstanding...”
Review of Honokeana Bay

Ranked #145 of 366 things to do in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Snorkeling is outstanding...”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This bay is excellent for snorkeling, with a lot of marine life and colorful reefs. It's a little walk to the bay and entry into the water can be a bit treacherous, but it's well worth it. GO!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
361 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“TURTLES!!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We went here a few times on our vacation and we ALWAYS saw turtles! We decided to snorkel and it was great. It was a little challenging getting in and out of the water, but otherwise it was great. Even if you don't snorkel you can see the turtles in the bay from the shore.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
422 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Some of the best snorkeling on Maui”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Like Chris (previous reviewer) said, you have to look beyond the common to find the gems on TripAdvisor - this is a great example.
You can park below the Napili General Store (limited spots), or up on Lower Hono.... (sp), and walk down to Napili Beach. (BTW, this is a 5 star beach! but few or no Honu) Once on the beach, go left (south), follow the 'trail'. Try and respect the Napili Pt private property as best you can - they paid for privacy!
It's a clamber down to the water - watch your step, its at your own risk. If the surf is high, this might not be your day, because... To get into the water, you have a step/slide/half jump into the water, and the rocks are shallow here. The best plan is to NOT DAWDLE - get your [--] together and get to open water ASAP. Be careful, and have a great time!
Ahhh - the water can be cold, don't overstay your welcome, maybe wear a rash guard. Sun can be fierce here, of course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic snorkelling”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are only 8 reviews at the time I write this review so very few people will find it on TripAdvisor sorting by most popular. But every review is 5 star and so is this one. This is actually a good lesson about how to use TripAdvisor and to not only focus on the activities with tons of reviews.

The Bay is circled by resorts so access is not easy but if you might be able to park at a resort and walk in. We stayed at the Napili Point Resort which borders a common access point to the Bay (to the right of the pool). Access into the water is very rocky (and I mean large slippery rocks) but once in it is worth it. There really are turtles everywhere. We saw our first ones within 3 minutes of entering the water. Lots of fish too. None of the other reviews are exaggerating!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Turtles love this cove”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at a condo on this cove and snorkeled in the cove every day. We snorkeled with the turtles daily. We could see them even from our condo lanai. Beautiful views and area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vikingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honokeana Bay also viewed

 

Been to Honokeana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing