We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luana Hills/Royal Hawaiin”
Review of Luana Hills Golf Course - CLOSED

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful course designed around Mt Olomana.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Luana Hills/Royal Hawaiin”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The only thing this course has going for it, is that it has great views. My husband and I showed up for our tee time only to discover that there was no driving range! They don't tell you that when you book your tee time. This course has apparently changed hands and is in a transitional phase. The club house was shut down, no beverage cart and the golf carts are very old. Breaks were so warn out, you never sure if you will be able to stop! We witnessed one golfer run right into the bushes becasue he could not stop.The score card did not provide a hole layout, nor did the tee box have hole layout information, which made club selection very difficult. Many of the shots were blind shots, with no hole layout you had no idea which club to use. During our 18 holes there were only 3 other groups. It appears that this course was designed with the intention of being a golf course community and no homes were ever built. I'm not sure what's going on, but I felt ripped off. This course should be $50 at most, and they are charging $125 ($85 golf now). There are to many other courses in Oahu to waist your money here. Go to Ko Olina, or turtle bay. A little further drive, but worth it. I spoke with the conceige at the Ritz after playing this course and told them they should not be sending their guest to The Royal Hawaiin. It would not surprise me if this place does not shut down. Be aware if you do play here, They will not tell you about the driving range, the club house, lack of beverage cart and the very unprofessional scorecard.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wietz12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
west coast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Jungle near the city...bring a camera, great attitude and a few pills (balls or aspirin).”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I hadn't been out to Royal Hawaiian Golf Club (formerly Luana Hills) for about six years. It was much too painful to play, as a beginner.

I was able to pull together a foursome for a nice early morning, tee-time. It was about 80 degrees and breezy and not a drop of rain in the sky (rare for the Windward side of the island). Take your time, don't rush. Look around at the beauty of your surroundings. Forget about your score, because the fairways are hard and fast, the greens are inconsistent (but, nice) and you will lose balls that you swear hit right in the middle of the fairway. Oh, plus the island greens, forced carries and you have yourself a challenge. The designer is Dye. Ring a bell?

The greens fees were $110 on a Sunday and we finished in 4:15. Light traffic and were never pushed.

If you are looking for tricks and treats, this is the course. If you play it a few times, you will get the local knowledge to shoot a decent score. The front seemed easier than the back (jungle). We were told be the attendants that the back will be renovated, soon, to make it more friendly and add some longer holes.

The course is off the Pali Hwy (going toward Kailua) and it's at the light for AULOA RD. You turn onto AULOA RD and make a very quick left to go toward LUANA HILLS (sign). Follow the road and you will see guardhouse. The course is straight up the hill.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank propredicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
236 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Golfing in a tropical jungle”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Great layout. Very few back to back holes. Front nine is on the side of volcanic mount and back nine is cut through the jungle.

Helpful?
Thank ssmhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
499 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great for weddings, good brunch”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I've never golfed there, but 2 of my friends have had wedding banquets there and it's gorgeous. beautiful view of the Koolaus

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Bring your A game and your camera. It's one of our favorite courses in Oahu”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

It's a love/hate relationship with this place.

It's one of our favorite courses to play in Oahu because it's absolutely gorgeous, but it's also where we lose the most golf balls. Bring plenty of extra sleeves and your water balls - you'll use them all.

This is target golf at its best...or worst. If you play from the black tee box, you might never have to pull your driver out unless you're that deadly accurate.

The beauty of the course and the challenge it brings, makes up for the other shortfalls: Gas carts need a serious upgrade and they come with no additional ammenities like an ice chest or tees. The restrooms in the clubhouse and course are clean, but the Igloo water coolers on the course were bone dry. Seriously? There was no sign of a drink cart while we were there and the clubhouse looks just plain dreary. It could use a good power washing.

If you can get past all those little things, go for the humbling experience: 1. To be one with nature because there's a whole heck of a lot of it and it's absolutely breathtaking and 2. this course will remind you why this sport is the great equalizer that it is, because no matter how good you are, it will KICK your butt.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luana Hills Golf Course also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing