We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I travel for work so say in a lot of hotels but this trip was with my dad. We arrived after 10pm and the front desk staff was away. She walked thru the hallway and appologized and said she be right their. It took another few minutes but she again said she was sorry. I was ok as I know hotel front desks often have only one person on the desk at night and sometimes they get pulled away to help another guest but Im sure my dad was tired. She quickly did the paperwork and gave me keys. The room was very clean, floor, bathroom, air vents, everything. The sheet and bed were very comfortable and the room quiet. In the morning breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express and fully stocked, clean, ready on time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Always great to hear from one with an understanding perspective! Thank you for that, the kind words and your scores. We take pride in what we do and work hard at it. Have a good weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    31
    16
    4
    11
See reviews for
48
8
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Used point for a one night stay, in town for a graduation party, but this was a very nice hotel. I only had two minor issues with the hotel, the beds could use to be upgraded, the springs were not good on our bed, we kept rolling toward the middle, and second, the service in the breakfast area was slow and there were only a couple people in there other than ourselves. We waited 10-15 min before more cinnamon rolls were brought out - those being a big reason my family likes to stay at Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONE442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thanks for your review of our property. I was happy to see the overall good 'marks', as well as your comments. Our mattresses were upgraded in mid-2011, but we'll look into it of course. We cannot get better without guests like you letting us know. Your taking the time to fill this out is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I attended a friends wedding during memorial day weekend. The hotel staff was extra welcoming. They offer a complimentary breakfast with a good selection of food and juices. The heated indoor pool was a big plus. On the downside the fitness center is super tiny with 2 or 3 cardio machines, but they do offer a complimentary pass to a near by gym "Life Fitness" in my opinion this gym has been one of the best that I have worked out at.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We enjoy getting great reviews. We love even more that you liked us so much! Thank you for the kind words. Our staff and amenities make us what we are! The agreement we have with LifeTime Fitness is awesome as well. Thanks again for choosing us and come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have been staying here for several weeks Monday through Friday. The hotel is clean, well maintained and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable during your stay. The location is close to everything you could need. Plenty of Resturant options and shopping if you forget something. Many places you can easily walk to. If your a Starbucks junky you won't even need to get on the main road. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a Suite, they are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
We appreciate the time you took to notice what we offer and wrote about it! Thank you so much. My staff works hard to provide the best for our guests as if they were family. Looking forward to sharing this review with them and of course, having you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Our family has stayed at this hotel numerous times while in town for sports and it has consistently been great. The front desk service is helpful and accomodating. The rooms are extremely clean, modern and noise has never been an issue. The bathrooms are spacious and have good counter space. An added plus is the breakfast in the morning - my son especially loves the pancake machine. We will stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLS681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
We appreciate the raving review! We are here for our guests and so elated we came through for you once again. Thank you for taking the time to write about us as well; it means a lot. Have a good week and we'll see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here January 2013. I had a promotional coupon for a room and bowling at a nearby bowling alley. Upon arrival, the person at the front desk greeted us. She was helping another customer. I noticed how nice she was to the people she was helping and I wondered if she would do the same to my party. Wow! She was fantastic. She described our room and asked if it would be ok. She offered a toy to each of the kids in my party. She gave suggestions on the various places we could go. Our room was fantastic. We had two queen beds, a sofa couch, microwave, sink, fridge, and two t.v.'s. I am not sure why another reviewer said that this hotel doesn't give out goody bags. I received a goody bad with water and chocolates. I also received a 1000 point bonus for watching a video. I was surprised to get the opportunity to get any points because I was using a promotional coupon. The hotel has a pool, whirlpool and small gym room. There is a bathroom in the pool area. The whirlpool was broken but the lady at the front desk offered a coupon to use services at a gym close by. The kids went swimming and had a ball. The rooms were clean. The free breakfast was ok. I have had better. I wish they had waffles. I didn't care for the made to order pancakes. I could tell they used water instead of milk to make the batter. They had cheese eggs, biscuits, cereal, yogurt, tea, coffer, bagels, and more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your raving review! I know the desk associate of which you are speaking and she is the best! Thanks for mentioning her and I cannot wait to share your review with her. We strive to be the best each and everyday. Thanks again and we hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stay at this hotel every year for an annual business trip. The rooms are nice, clean, modern and very comfortable. They greet you with a smile and are very accommodating. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJoonBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thanks for a 'solid' review. We try hard and love to hear the good stuff. Thank you and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
273 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Address: 2595 Bunker Hill Dr, Algonquin, IL 60102-9742 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Algonquin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin has re-launched with all new trademarks and amenities. As a recipient of InterContinental Hotels Group Renovation Award and J.D. Power and Associates Award for “Highest in Guest Satisfaction among midscale Hotel Chains” we are committed to excellence! You’ll find comfort and impeccable service at one of the most convenient locations in McHenry County. Contemporary furnishings and a friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. Within walking distance are many great shops and restaurants including Colonial Café, Burnt Toast Restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Algonquin Commons Shopping and more!The property features 86 rooms including Executive and Specialty Suites. Also featured is an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. In the morning you’ll enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast full of hot and cold items making breakfast at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Algonquin the perfect way to start your day. Breakfast includes eggs, meat items, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, made- to-order pancakes and our savory hot cinnamon rolls. For business or pleasure, we are the preferred place to stay when in McHenry County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin Hotel Algonquin
Holiday Inn Algonquin
Algonquin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing