We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated Rooms & Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Updated Rooms & Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are updated and very comfortable. No odd smells or loud people. The gentlemen at the front desk was very good and accommodating. He reviewed everything and even asked if I had a floor preference. When I left for dinner and came back he acknowledge me each time. I would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dragons30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thanks for the review. We pride ourselves on great service and recognition of our guests. Looking forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    29
    15
    3
    11
See reviews for
46
7
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice and updated Holiday Inn; friendly service with a nice room. Good location in Algonquin and one of the nicest HIs I have stayed in, but still a Holiday Inn, so that's why I'm only at four stars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rjodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
We are loved for our cleanliness and service. We appreciate the time taken to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very Clean, up to date rooms--had exhaust in bathroom, not found in most hotels/motels, which I appreciate for steam after a shower.Friendly front desk; noisy crowd most of night next to one of our rooms. We did not report to front desk, but should have. Very nice breakfast with accommodating help staffing the area.Nice pool area.

Room Tip: I reserved three rooms -mine was handicapped because I prefer a tub to shower. Make sure to make yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We appreciate your review and tips. Always let us know of any issue while you are staying with us. We want you as comfortable as possible! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed at three different hotels in Chicagoland before this one. My friend and I decided to stay a bit further outside of the city than usual and found the HI Express in Algonquin. Before arriving at the hotel, I received a call from them staying that since I am a Priority Club Gold member, I could upgrade my room to a suite with king bed and sleeper sofa for no charge. I accepted this, knowing how much more pricey these rooms are. Lately I have been getting nice upgrades, and this is no exception. A few hours later, we arrived at the hotel. It's very nice and remodeled, one of the nicest HI Expresses I have ever been to. Checkin was by the same person who called (forgot his name! Sorry!) went smoothly- very nice and helpful guy.

Room is beautiful- you could tell it was newer and remodeled. It even had nice wooden arches between the sofa and bed. Not functional, but just there for decoration, very nice. Two TVs are there with DIRECTV. Not just a selection of channels, but the whole basic package, plus HBO. Didn't watch much, but it was a nice feature. Bathroom is decent size, bed was comfy, fridge was nice to keep beverages in.

Breakfast is very diverse and filling, with some healthier and gluten free options thrown in. I believe this is the first HI Express I have seen gluten free available. Nice seating area too.

Spa is very nice, pool is good though a bit small and shallow with the deep end around 4 1/2 feet. Didn't use it much so no big deal. Exercise room is in there too with a treadmill and two machines. Typical of an HI Express.

Business center is in the lobby tucked in a corner. The newer hotels seem to have shrunk the size of this.

All of the staff was very friendly. While I stay at different hotels each visit, I may change my mind after this stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
So glad to hear of your great stay with us. I do have a great staff and we take pleasure in upgrading our Best IHG Rewards Club members. They travel alot and deserve it and you were no exception! I am anxious to share this with the staff. Thank you again for your time in reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am staying here right now, It really smells bad in the rooms, like someone put cologne on mold, the bed is ok but the smell is horrid, my nephew is in a suite on the 3rd floor and that room smells like smoke although it says no smoking in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayw1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Our apologies for the smell in your room. As soon as you spoke to me about this, we dealt with it. While housekeeping couldn't smell anything, the room was given extra care during your housekeeping service. A face-to-face follow-up with you was done in the early afternoon and you said you were quite happy with the outcome and service you received. Having said this, these comments did catch me off guard. I do wish you let me know about the smell of smoke in your other room, located on a different floor. You are right, we are a non-smoking hotel and would have investigated quickly. This hotel prides themselves on excellence, cleanliness and making all our guests feel comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wedding to go to and we had plenty of room for the 5 of us!! Great breakfast the two mornings we were here. Pool and hot tub were nice and we used the fitness room. It wasn't loud or too full to feel uncomfortable or cramped. Good location! Close to shopping and food! Nice place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We appreciate the compliments. Our rooms are spacious and the location is great. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've spent a copule of nights there for business and it was a good choice: conveniently located nearby business areas as well as to restaurants and shops. The staff was very friendly and efficent, the room was large, clean and comfortable. I have appreciated also the free happy hour in the evening. Overall a very good value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brambis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-GMalgonquin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Great to hear of your satisfaction with our hotel. Thank you for taking the to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
6.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Address: 2595 Bunker Hill Dr, Algonquin, IL 60102-9742 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Algonquin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin has re-launched with all new trademarks and amenities. As a recipient of InterContinental Hotels Group Renovation Award and J.D. Power and Associates Award for “Highest in Guest Satisfaction among midscale Hotel Chains” we are committed to excellence! You’ll find comfort and impeccable service at one of the most convenient locations in McHenry County. Contemporary furnishings and a friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. Within walking distance are many great shops and restaurants including Colonial Café, Burnt Toast Restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Algonquin Commons Shopping and more!The property features 86 rooms including Executive and Specialty Suites. Also featured is an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. In the morning you’ll enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast full of hot and cold items making breakfast at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Algonquin the perfect way to start your day. Breakfast includes eggs, meat items, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, made- to-order pancakes and our savory hot cinnamon rolls. For business or pleasure, we are the preferred place to stay when in McHenry County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin Hotel Algonquin
Holiday Inn Algonquin
Algonquin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing