We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victorian Rose Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Algonquin B&B and Inns
WEST CHESTER
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

A nice bed an breakfast in a small Victorian style town. Many good places to eat within walking distance. Also close to other small towns for exploring. The staff were very friendly providing great service and assistance with planning sight seeing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCW270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The owner is a very charming Christian lady who is an excellent cook. Her breakfasts are Awesome and selection of teas is very large! The home is delicately and daintily decorated. She also throws delicious tea parties. We've been back several times.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynpodraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here as a change of pace from the normal motel chains. The room was very nice and our host Sherry was very accomodating as we arrived early. The breakfast was excellent. The town of Alogonquin is quite a change from the normal suburban area. There is the river walk park and what appeared to be several nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller70029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here (Lady Teresa's Room) for two nights recently while visiting family nearby. For us, the location was excellent, although we had little time to explore the town or the riverside parks, all of which are in easy walking distance. Our hosts for the weekend were very nice and helpful, and prepared two of the best breakfasts we have ever had (see photos).

The B&B was full, yet we did not hear anything once we were inside the room; wonderful! The decor is Victorian, of course, so don't expect new and contemporary. An unexpected bonus was joining the other guests (3 couples one day, two the next, plus us) for a pleasant and very lively discussion of various topics at breakfast. We even got into touchy areas, and everyone remained civil! I think we all enjoyed and learned from the experience.

The common areas of the house are very attractive and interesting, though we didn't get to spend time in them other than breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I found The Victorian Rose Garden Bed and Breakfast on the website of Port Edward restaurant in Algonquin while I was trying to plan a fun evening for proposing to my girlfriend. The innkeeper Sherry is such a sweet person. We were only there one night but it sure felt like home. beautifully decorated and lots of history. Sherry was so easy to talk to and neither my fiance or i wanted to leave. The breakfast she made was DELICIOUS especially the croissant french toast. Yummy! I will always remember our time there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gman11555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My family stayed with at the Rose Garden B&B and felt right at home. When we arrived earlier than expected, our host Sherry was there to accommodate our needs as we were in town for a last minute family event. Our family occupied three rooms and each had its own separate bathroom.

Since we had a strict time line, Sherry was more than willing to have breakfast ready when we needed to eat, and to prepare a different meal for dietary needs of one of our family. Breakfast was made while was snacked on fresh made banana nut bread and coffee and served right on time for our schedule.

Breakfast consisted of banana nut bread and cinnamon scones, Fresh whole strawberries and sliced banana. French toast made with croissants, bacon and sausage. Served with orange juice, water and coffee. Sherry also made oatmeal as an alternative.

There are several restaurants and lunch cafe's within walking distance.

There were no young children in our group and I wouldn't recommend the Rose Garden as a place to stay with young children.

Room Tip: The Presidential Chamber is very large and will only sleep two. It has a full size tub and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cberry135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Show Low, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Traveling alone, I want to feel safe. The Victorian Rose Garden offers that and so much more.
Sherry is so gracious and serves delicious breakfasts.
I've stayed there twice and feel very much at home. It's a lovely setting and the rooms are beautifully decorated. Sharing a meal with other travelers is a real treat.
granny garee

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
279 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Rose Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Rose Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: Victorian Rose Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 314 Washington Street, Algonquin, IL 60102
Region: United States > Illinois > Algonquin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algonquin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Rose Garden Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this home away from home in its quiet setting. Perfect for the leisure or business traveler. Old-fashioned hospitality with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Rose Garden Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing