We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Certificate of Excellence
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Older property”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here 9/1/2013 to 9/3/2013 on my drive across the country and to take a day to visit the Chicago Art Museum. Checking in was strange, as there was a wedding going on, spilling into the hallways with the banquet doors open, so it was REALLY LOUD from the band. Large hotel, so I had to drive around to the back for my room. Really cool all wood elevator to the Hilton Honors floor, but then the hallway smelled a bit to the room, which was smaller than the normal Doubletree room. Next day, leaving for the museum, the elevator was out of order, so I had to walk to the front of the hotel to the elevator, then back down the long hallway to my car. The elevator was not fixed the next day when I left, so had to do the down the hallway thing again. Older, tired property, would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if the hallway smells outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Looking over the dates of your stay it seems you were here over Labor Day weekend. Late Sunday night, around 10pm, into Monday morning we did experience a power outage due to a faulty line coming into our building from the street. We do apologize for this inconvenience since the outage did knock out one of our elevator bays. Since this opportunity we have been in contact with our local energy company to have new lines installed from the street into our building. Hopefully these proactive steps will help us avoid future opportunities. We hope that you returned home safely from your road trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    242
    119
    43
    33
See reviews for
273
143
45
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very nice Hotel, welcoming, friendly. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, had a good night sleep. This hotel does not offer free breakfast. The restaurant opens at 6:00am and I had to be at work by 6:30am. No time for breakfast in the restaurant. Since most people staying at the Double Tree are there due to work in the area, would be nice to have breakfast served earlier or free for those having leave early.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you were comfortable throughout your stay. Next time you are in we can always get you a "grab and go" type item for breakfast i.e breakfast sandwich or wrap. This way you will be charged up for your day. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I enjoyed my days at Double Tree. The staff were professional, enjoyed meals in the restaurant and room service. I slept very well room was clean and had pleasant décor. I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kyla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review and compliments of the staff. We are happy that you were comfortable throughout your stay and also enjoyed our restaurant. Next time you are in the area please keep us in mind. We look forward to serving you again in the near future and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A nice hotel - easy to find, great breakfast, clean and quiet rooms and friendly and helpful staff - a good value in south Chicago worth considering - stayed there for two nights and would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your review. You have paid us the biggest compliment possible by stating that you would recommend our hotel to others, so thank you! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, our amenities and service. We look forward to serving you again in the near future and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this location when we flew in for a Chicagoland wedding. WHAT A WONDERFUL experience. My wife has a feather allergy and we always request a feather-free room when making reservations. This is first and only hotel that has ever taken care of this request in advance of check-in! Thanks for such great care in a very well taken care of, safe and quiet hotel. Very clean, very well taken care of. Don't overlook this location on the south side. It's wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Edwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay while with us for the wedding. Our hotel always attempts to stay competitive compared to the other hotels in the area and we are ecstatic to hear that you found value in our property and enjoyed our service. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsip, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Waiters are not polite and very inattentive. Food quality is good but limited menu. Bartender Sue is great - She remembers you and knows how to interact. Room is clean and Housekeeping is doing excellent job. Workout facility is small but useful. Indoor pool is awesome. Overall, I'd expect better customer service from highly trained staffs when guests paid premium prices to stay in the Doubletree.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jaysk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It seems that you enjoyed your experience throughout the hotel except in the restaurant. We do apologize for this inconvenience. I am wondering which meal period you are referencing and which server you had? If you could please e-mail me at chias_gm@hilton.com and further elaborate about this opportunity I would sincerely appreciate it. Please list tripadvisor review in the subject line along with your name; in the body of the e-mail please list your dates of stay. I look forward to hearing from you and rectifying this situation. Thank you for your time and consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very nice facility; however, next door guests were loud and unruly and we received a minimal response from staff. The food, restaurant service, pool and exercise room were excellent, however. In the wee hours of the morning shouting/yelling next door awakened us. We called the front desk, but the noise continued. Finally, around 3 a.m. the noise stopped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlsipDoubletree, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to noise it does take some time either to evict a guest or calm down a situation. This is an opportunity that we do encounter on the weekends and we will continue to take measures to resolve these issues. We want to ensure that our hotel is a comfortable environment for all to enjoy. With that being said please e-mail me at chias_gm@hilton.com so I may further investigate the situation. Please place your name and trip advisor review in the subject line, in the body of the e-mail please state your dates of stay. I look forward to hearing from you and rectifying this opportunity. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsip
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
4.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crestwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Chicago Southland
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton
#1 of 3 in Orland Park
375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
Address: 5000 W 127th St, Alsip, IL 60803-3245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Alsip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alsip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Alsip, among the finest hotels near Midway Airport (MDW). We're conveniently located just 20 minutes from the MDW airport, where we offer complimentary airport shuttle bus service to and from(hours: 4am-11:59pm, reservations required). We offer 15,000 sq/ft of flexible event and function space, perfect for your wedding or business meeting. Connected to the hotel is the local favorite, Allgauer's Restaurant, featuring the best and most unique dining available in the South Chicago area. We have an indoor pool and fitness center waiting for you, we look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Alsip
Doubletree Alsip
Alsip Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing