We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beall Mansion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“Beall Mansion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our visit to Alton. It was a trip back in a time capsule. Jim is very knowlegable about the area and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. It was a unique experience. Our room was large and comfortable with a bathtub spa! Climbing stairs is necessary there. The mansion is very special. There is an option to have the breakfast in bed. The continental breakfast was modest. I would definitely stay again and try the specal breakfast. Hot food or special baked options would be nice for the regular self serve breakfast though.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    25
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
269
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I decided to get away for our 4 year anniversary. We wanted to do something different & the Beall mansion was definitely different!! The mansion was beautiful & relaxing. My husband and I slept like babies both nights. I felt like a pampered Princess and my Husband was impressed with the woodwork. We stayed in the "servants quarters", but felt like anything BUT servants. The chocolate bar was amazing! Jim and Sandy were very attentive to our needs even though they were short staffed at the time of out stay. We will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benld, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I was given a night as a wedding present. This B & D was absolutely the best place I have ever been to. It's totally restored. I felt as tho I should've been wearing the clothes from that era. I want to go in the winter time so I can use the fire place. The jacuzzi tub was so relaxing. We slept like babies on the feather bed. The owners really go above and beyond for their guests.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gigijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I were given a gift of two nights at the mansion. We were not too sure about spending two nights away, but we had the best time. The Victorian home is just beautiful and the gardens were lovely too. The owner greated us and was friendly and accommodating. The room was beautifully decorated and had a king four poster bed with a feather mattress. So very comfortable. We have friends who lived not too far from Alton, so we "vacationed" with them. After a day at the winery in nearby Grafton, we continued our visit in the parlor of the home. It was very comfortable and a relaxing way to end the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryville, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently had our wedding ceremony out in front of the Beall Mansion. We were looking for something unique and intimate for our 40 guests. The grounds are beautifully landscaped so there was no need for extra flowers or frills. The mansion made a great backdrop for a romantic afternoon and great wedding photos. Inside the Beall is full of antique treasures, you will feel like you have stepped back in time. The chocolate bar is a nice touch. The owners really make sure you enjoy your stay. We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Babylon, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

An over-the-top lovely Victorian mansion, beautifully decorated and maintained. I wasn't expecting much with the paltry $107 paid for a "no-frills" experience, but the room we got was huge, complete with a king-size poster bed and a whirlpool. The owners/caretakers are very friendly and generous. If we're ever in the area again, there is no doubt where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Beall Mansion is a beautifully maintained grand old home in a residential area of a formerly thriving industrial city on the Mississippi River. Other equally grand homes in private hands are nearby, giving you a sense of what the neighborhood was like in its day. The home is meticulously maintained by Jim and Sandy Belote, and is furnished in period pieces to truly take you back in time. A very enjoyable stay that I will repeat in the future!

Room Tip: Very spacious rooms on the second floor. Smaller but very comfortable room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
The Cheshire
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#40 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 407 E. 12th St., Alton, IL 62002
Region: United States > Illinois > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where do you want to stay: (a) another typical hotel / motel, or (b) a fully restored, historic mansion? Think outside the box - treat yourself to surprisingly affordable, award winning lodging. Whirlpool ("Jacuzzi") and fireplace rooms. Free Wi-Fi. Free "all you can eat" 24 hour chocolate buffet. Leisure, corporate, government, and extended stay rates. Only 25 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport and the St. Louis Gateway Arch. A "USA Top 100 Gold Inn and B&B" Award Winning Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beall Mansion An Elegant Hotel Alton
Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing